The Last Eating Holiday of Summer

We are past the 4th of July and there shall be no more holidays until Labor Day in Sept. Although it is still a season full of BBQs, holiday traditions that go with that (like potato salad) are tucked away until then, at least in our house. Today as if starting again with a clean slate in hand, I will weigh myself, take my measurements and head to the gym for a workout (Senior Center was closed yesterday).

My son is the epitome of fitness lately. My daughters tell me he has transformed himself completely. He and my oldest daughter were having a heart-to-heart (she is overweight just like her mother) and he told her she just had to try for 2 weeks. Two weeks seems a lot more doable than a lifetime. He swears after just two weeks she’ll feel so much better she won’t want to quit exercising and eating right. So I am taking his advice to heart, only for 2 months instead of 2 weeks. We’ll see where I am come Labor Day.

Leave a Reply

