Journaling or Tracking Your Food Really Helps.

Burger King Whopper

Burger King Whopper

I personally know that journaling what you eat, or tracking your food really helps when it comes to weight loss. So why don’t we do it? I don’t know. I’m sure there’s some deep-seeded, psychological reason that goes somewhere along the lines of self-sabotaging, but I don’t really know. Is it something to do with the rest of our lives being out of control and so it shows up in our weight? I don’t know that either.

What I do know is my life was (and still sort of is) out of control and I can pretty much say it coincides with my adding 50 pounds to my bodacious (lol) bod. I also know that when I lost weight before it was while tracking what I ate.

I started tracking again a couple weeks ago. I was shocked to see how much a bagel and cream cheese cost me. I was paying attention, tracking, and then I quit. It was working and then I quit. I’ve been trying to get back into it and I have to admit I’m not doing as good as I was before I found out what everything was calorie-wise.

Which leads me to this question. Do I quit journaling, even though it’s subconscious until I discover what I’m doing, because I just want to eat what I want to eat? I’m not suicidal (at least not yet) but maybe I’m too much into “instant gratification”. I’m really too old for that to be the case, but it really could be. I grew up with “delayed (really delayed) gratification” so maybe now I think I deserve it NOW. lol.

Whatever it is, I’ve been tracking the last 2 days and plan to now keep it up. I have learned that a Chicken Salad at Taco Bell without the shell or the dressing is only 430 calories, not 800. I track my nutrition on SparkPeople. They have what they call a “streak”. You can keep track of your streaks, like how many days in a row you journal, or exercise, or a number of other things. I’ll be turning it on to see how many days in a row I can go with tracking my food. Finding out the burger I had last night has 850 calories didn’t make me happy. It sure brings nutrition to the front of your mind. It would probably work even better if I looked up the foods before I ate them.

Leave a Reply

