A Reality Check

I went to lunch with a very dear friend of mine yesterday. He’s great because even though he talks way to much, he’s encouraging to me and interested in how I’m doing as well as letting me know how he’s doing. When I’m down I can call him and even when he’s complaing he’s full of energy, enthusiasm, and very uplifting.

For lunch I had a chinese chicken salad with the dressing on the side, and a piece of flatbread ( the new rage). Whenever I eat with him he takes 1/2 of what ever it is he ordered home with him. This has taught me to do the same even tho I have known for a long time that particular diet trick. I just never could bring myself to actually do it.

Yesterday after lunch he tricked me. He knew I had to run by Target to get a couple of things and he said he needed to also, so could we go together. The next thing I know, we are walking to and from Target. Not what I had intended. I had told him last month I was going to be walking, etc. to train to walk the Aids walk with my oldest daughter this year. I suppose he thought he was helping my train.

He forgets that altho I’ve been more active lately, I’ve been pretty sedentary for 2 yrs. He goes to the gym every day or nite, which ever the case may be. Needless to say that although he’s fairly short in stature, I trailed behind him most of the way. Reality lesson? I’ve got a lot to do before the walk in July. LOL

2 Responses

  1. Sounds like a GREAT friend! They say that’s the best kind of person to be around — positive and supportive. I gotta find me one of them!

  2. hi writinggb- thanks so much for the comment. Yes, he is a Godsend some days.

Leave a Reply

