A New One On Fat People

What else can they blame us for?

Yesterday on the news they came out with a report that fat people are the reason for global warming. Of course we didn’t do it all by ourselves, but we’re a big part of it.

According to researchers at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, fat people cause more greenhouse gases because we eat more food and drive more. Now they’re hoping if you don’t care enough about yourself to lose weight, you might care more about what you’re doing to the environment.

One of the things they state is that it takes more energy to move heavier people. (I don’t think I needed a study to tell me that one).

The population with 40 percent obese people requires 19 percent more food energy for its total energy expenditure than the population with 3.5 percent obese people, the figure from when we were a much more active society 30 years ago. This 19 percent increase in food consumption translates into an increase of 270 million metric tons of greenhouse gas emissions, the study said.

That’s quite a bit! What I want to know is how they even measure that?

According to a study done back in 1978 (which I can’t remember hearing anything about) a year the United States experienced an oil shock, a study in the American Journal of Public Health showed that if all overweight people in the country aged 18 to 79 reached their optimal weight, the resulting energy savings would equal 1.3 billion gallons of gasoline.

After the dieting period, about 750 million gallons of gasoline would be saved every year, said the authors, Bruce Hannon, professor at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and Timothy Lohman, now professor emeritus at the University of Arizona.

So supposedly the answer to our warming globe and our dependence on foreign oil, is just for everyone to go on a diet. I can’t wait to see the environmentalists spin on this one.

4 Responses

  1. I don’t get it…are they breathing too much air..or expelling too much air. Hmm, sounds like junk science to me.

  2. Thanks for the comment Lou. They were saying they use more fuel because they don’t walk as much? ride as much? It takes more fuel for their cars to haul them? I don’t know for sure. I always thought most really heavy people were like me and don’t move much at all. LOL.

  3. As if I didn’t already have a guilt complex!

  4. I know what you mean. That’s why I’m going to do what my mother did and find a doctor that’s fat, smokes, and drinks. LOL. Too bad hers died.

Leave a Reply

