Get It And Get Going!

At least that’s what they tell me. Anyone who has read much of this blog knows I am not big on exercise. Yes I’m still paying for the gym,but got so frustrated from too many people, I might as well be flushing $20 down the toilet every month. I don’t quit because I am going to give it another chance. I have a friend that’s pretty fanatical about hitting the gym every day and I’m hoping it is rubbing off on me. He has gotten me to eat only half of whatever I have to eat when we’re out and take the rest home, so who knows? I’ve known that diet tip for a long time but wasn’t very good at practice, but I am actually doing it even when I’m not dining with him, so it’s working.

I don’t know where I’ve been when it comes to all the new gadgets for fitness buffs, but evidently not on the cutting edge. While looking on some of my favorite message boards this morning I learned about all kinds of new exercise gadgets that measure everything from your sleep patterns to how intense you exercise, (or not), to how many calories you burn during and after. All from a wrist band. Pretty exciting.

Go Wear FitFirst up is Go Wear Fit- According to their website

Simply wear the GoWear fit armband during the course of your day, then log onto your personalized GoWear fit online activity manager. You’ll get accurate, easy-to-digest information about the calories you’ve burned, plus a calorie consumption calculator and tips for how to best reach your fitness and lifestyle goals.

GoWear fit also measures sleep duration and efficiency – so that you can begin to understand the influence your bedtime has on your overall health.

They say it is not- a heart monitor or a pedometer. It’s not cheap either. For the armband, display, and a 12 month subscription it’s $249.90 You save $116 by buying the package.

Polar F-55

Polar F-55

This is a very popular heart rate monitor. According to their website

Polar has launched a new line of training computers for the general fitness and cross-training market aimed at encouraging people to listen to their bodies to get the most from their workouts. Monitoring the heart rate is the best way to tell how effective training is on a person’s health and fitness. This new line of fitness products provides feedback and guidance for more effective training in fewer hours.

They too are working on being able to upload to a site to graph your progress, etc. They range in price from $59.95 for measuring walking intensity and pace, to $399.95 for athletes and coaches. They even have heart monitors for people measuring activity after heart surgery or heart attacks.

Garmin Forerunner

Garmin Forerunner

The Garmin Forerunner also has a chest strap for more accurate readings (it says). I’m not sure how I would feel about wearing a chest strap while I ran altho they did say they’ve made it “more comfortable”. According to their website

The Forerunner 305 includes a high sensitivity GPS receiver, new courses feature and robust wireless heart rate monitor for optimal performance. Garmin’s web-based application that provides in-depth analysis of your workouts, online mapping and route sharing that will take your training to the next level.

If training indoors it says you need an extra assessorie that attaches to your shoe. As far as price goes, I saw one gadget for $99.00, but when looking at their current promotions one deal was up to $4000.00 rebate if you bought one of the packages. Anything offering this kind of money back has to cost a fortune to start with.

I found it really interesting as to what all these things could do and how much fun and beneficial it could be to use the information they provide. For me personally I think I will wait until I’m actually taking more of an interest in my own exercise, like doing some, before I’m going to invest. $20 a month to do nothing is more than enough. LOL

Leave a Reply

