Real Goals For Weight Loss

I have to admit, I’m probably not the best at setting goals or keeping them. I know that you stand a much better chance of reaching your goals if you put them down in writing. I also know that you have to be very specific on what it is you want and by when. I know that you have to be realistic or your setting yourself up for failure. 

Tom Venuto from BurnTheFat.com tells the story like this. He says when a client would come to him for personal coaching, he would ask them what they wanted. Usually the answer was they wanted to lose 20 pounds really fast. (Of course, don’t we all?). He said he would immediately take out a hacksaw and act like he was going to cut off a leg or an arm, teasing them all the while that he figured one or the other might actually weigh 25 or more. That was his answer to losing weight really fast.

This is how he says goals should be made.

“What do I want? Tom, I want to lose 20 pounds of body fat in the next 12 weeks. I want to do it slowly, safely and healthfully and then keep it off permanently. I want all the fat around my hips and thighs completely gone and I want a firm flat stomach. I want muscle all over my body while still looking feminine. I’d like to see myself at about 16% body fat and maintain all my muscle or gain a few pounds of lean mass if I can, especially in my arms. This is important to me because I want to set a good example for my kids, I want to be healthy and live to at least 90 and I want my husband to look at me and say, “I love your body, honey,” and I want to be able to *honestly* say back to him, “me too!”

Now that’s a pretty defined goal. LOL. He says it’s specific while at the same time having emotional ties to keep motivated in that direction. He goes on to explain that what we’re really looking for is “fat loss” not weight loss because weight loss includes water, muscle mass, etc. He points out that measuring lean muscle mass is much more important to overall body structure than the number on the scale.

So people, are your goals defined or are they kind of “mushy” (vague). Spell them out specifically and you’ve won half the battle. Now get going on making them happen. Good luck!

2 Responses

  1. Great article. Short, sweet, to the point. Makes alot of sense. Many people today want the instant fix, but don’t want to do what it truly takes. A good, realistic plan is absolutely the first step. Thanks.

  2. thehealthguy- Thanks for stopping by. I’m looking forward to reading more from you on your blog. Your website has a lot of neat stuff. I’ll have to go back and have a better look around.

Leave a Reply

