Damn You, Valerie!

valerieOkay, not really. I love Valerie Bertinelli. I used to think she was so cute in “One Day At A Time” when I was younger. And yes, I’m one of the million who could not understand how a girl like her could marry Van Halen (bad boy). I remember seeing her in a couple of made-for-tv-movies but I hadn’t seen her in awhile.

I’m sure everyone saw when she took Kirstie Alley’s job away as spokesperson for Jenny Craig. Evidently Kirstie Alley’s rowing the same boat to weight gain that I am. LOL. I haven’t seen many commercials for awhile featuring either one of them, although the “rags” are more than happy to keep us informed of every ounce poor Kirstie gains back.

Yesterday as I sign on to AOL (almost online) I end up staring right into the face of sweet Valerie and the story of her posing in a bikini on the cover of people magazine. She looks like  a 20 yr. old and you could never tell she’s had a child! Me, I still carry part of my “baby weight” in what we non-affectionately call an “apron”. She’s  almost 50! She said she hadn’t worn a bikini in 20 years. On top of that she’s written a new book about her weight loss called “Losing It: How I Got My Life Back One Pound At A Time”. I don’t think we’ll be seeing her on the front page of the Enquirer with a story about how she gained all her weight back any time soon.

While she didn’t have to pay for her food like you or I would, according to her she attributes most of her weight loss to 10,000 steps per day. She didn’t get a personal trainer until she wanted to lose the last 15 or 20 lbs. She doesn’t even “wrinkle” right for her age (you know, one of those damn natural beauties). I have 3 pedometers and I can’t get even 1 to work right, although after today I’m going to try again with my favorite one.

So I got to thinking.

1) I should have been doing my lifestyle changes with her instead of just watching. I may have been done now too.

2) I don’t think I like Heather Locklear much either. LOL.

3) I have run out of excuses. The last one I was clinging to was being post menopausal, it’s harder to lose (especially if you don’t move a lot). 

Too many of these women that look so good are my age or older! Look at Meryl Streep, Faye Dunaway, Goldie Hawn (who does look like hell without makeup, but she’s in great shape). There really is no excuse for letting myself go like this and not doing something about it. So, I’m off again to log my points and make another stab at the gym. (If I can find parking I might even go in this time).

Thank you contactmusic.com for the pic. At least in this one it looks like she could use a little work on those underarms. LOL.

Leave a Reply

