Girl Scout Cookies vs. WeightWatchers Points

If you have been out of the house at all, you realize this weekend the Girl Scouts of America have broke loose with the Girl Scout cookies. Starting yesterday they are outside of grocery stores and banks across America. Today (Saturday)the BF says they’re everywhere. I’m pretty basically sure he only noticed because I brought home 60 boxes myself last nite.

I had all the good intentions one on a diet can have. I went to a grocery store last nite that has two entrances, one at each end of the store. I was quick to notice the Girl Scouts at one door as I was looking for parking. I was so good. I parked at the other end of the store where there were none (are the Girl Scout groups getting smaller? Why weren’t they covering both doors?). From this store I actually had a really good coupon for Oreo’s. I like those and Chips Ahoy because I can buy the low fat versions. I have to ask myself how do you buy Oreo’s after seeing the Girl Scouts and they only give you one chance once a year?

I did my shopping, comparing prices, checking food labels, all the good stuff. Then I go to check out. Who has the shortest line? The guy by the Girl Scout cookies of course. So I had to go that way, you know.

In this economy even the Girl Scouts of America are in trouble. They had to discontinue (one of my favorites)some flavors, change others, and take 2 cookies out of every box. Pretty sad, aye? So this is how I chose to help stimulate the economy. I bought my cookies plus some for all those people that (are smart enough) don’t buy cookies for whatever their reasons. I knew what I was doing when I did it, and what’s worse is I will probably replenish which ever cookies go first before the Girl Scouts quit selling them.

So how am I going to deal with this dastardly dead? As soon as I brought the box in the kitchen, not the box of cookies like “a box of cookies” the box that held all the boxes of cookies I bought, I pulled out my trusty pointsfinder, a red Sharpie, and put how many cookies I could have for how many points on the top of each box.

Girl Scout Cookies

Girl Scout Cookies

I have learned:

  1. I can only have two of my favorite peanut butter for 3 points (but it’s actually like 4 cookies if you break them apart).
  2. If I eat the “Thin Mints” I can have 1 cookie per point.
  3. Shortbread give the biggest quantity for the least points (5/4)
  4. They screwed me up when they changed the lemon cookie. It is no longer “lower fat”. (3/4)
  5. The “sugar free” chocolate chip is not “a low calorie” food. (3/4)
  6. The new “de leuche” cookie is really bad and I can have 3 cookies for 5 points.

Who am I to gripe? At least with WeightWatchers these aren’t off the list completely because we can eat whatever we want. LOL

Leave a Reply

