Wednesday Weight Loss Tips

I get so tired of the same old advice about losing weight. Everyone gives the same tips year after year, pound after pound. Occasionally I run accross good ideas that I’ve never seen before or some new news that I think is interesting to share. I think today is one of those days.

I was reading an article in my local newspaper (Wednesdays have the food and wine section) about freezing treats. I found this article interesting because 1) the writer is on her own weight loss journey 2) it made sense.

She freezes almost everything she eats to fulfill her sweet tooth desires from brownies to peanut M&Ms. Her idea is that it takes her so long to eat 2 Double Stuffed Oreos when they’re frozen compared to 4 to 6 she would have eaten had they not been frozen. Because it takes so long to eat them, they’re also much more satisfying. I can remember eating Snickers frozen as a kid. They would get so hard it would take forever to finish one. She does warn about being careful as you bite so you don’t crack a tooth.

She also freezes certain fruits and vegetables and eats them that way. I went to the store the other day and bought blueberries and grapes. She had mentioned these specifically (she’s addicted to frozen grapes) so I thought I’d give it a try. I didn’t have room in my freezer for the big bag of grapes, but did freeze the blueberries.

When they come out of the freezer it seems so strange. They’re beautiful, but they sound almost like you’re banging marbles together. I tried one and I really thought the freezing had taken a lot of the flavor away, but when I had a bunch in my yogurt this morning I thought they were quite the little surprise for the mouth. Now I’m looking forward to freezing the grapes with anticipation. I’m always looking for something that moves my hand to something healthy the way it likes to grab at cookies, so hopefully this will be an enticing answer. I like grapes a lot already but if it’s a choice between a handful of grapes and a handful of Doritos, sorry to say grapes aren’t the first thing I go for.

I know. Some old, sage advice. Keep cookies and Doritos out of the house. LOL.

5 Responses

  1. Frozen grapes are one of my favorite treats! I have never put the whole bag in but what I do is put a few handfuls in after they’re rinsed in a plastic container and after a few hours it’s a wonderful treat! At first it’s crisp and crunchy (because it’s frozen) but then you get some of the juice from the inside and it is really just great! They’re a great treat in the summer and to be honest all year round I love grabbing a handful of frozen grapes!

  2. I love frozen grapes. They’re great for a treat in the summer. Like little mini popsicles that don’t melt.

  3. Frozen grapes bother my teeth, like eating ice does. I’ve mostly stopped eating any bread, drinking soda, and no junk food. I’ve lost 10 lbs in 3 weeks but I’m not a very happy camper. grrrrr…….

  4. Congratulations on the 10lbs. Midlife Slices! That’s great weight loss for only 3 weeks. I don’t know what kind of plan you’re following, but for me bread is hard to give up completely so I eat the Sarah Lee Delight Wheat w/honey. It’s only 45 calories per slice vs. 80 cal. for 1 regular slice of bread and it’s really good (a little sweet). Nicer slices than it’s competition, Orowheat light.
    For junk food I eat “healthy Pop” or any of those 94% fat free popcorns. You get so much for so little damage calorie wise. Good luck with your continued success. Just think about how terrific you’re going to look all tan and thinner in Hawaii. No mumus for yuyu. LOL.

  5. SMB and freelanceallison- Thanks for the encouraging words on the grapes. Now I’ll have to make room in my freezer. I’m not real big on frozen stuff in the winter because I’m usually to cold already (my motto: too old to be cold), but anything that helps me reach for something healthy is worth a try.

Leave a Reply

