Don’t Mess With My Coffee

When I wake up in the morning while I wait for the coffee to get done brewing, I have gone back to drinking a full glass of 1 part unsweetened cranberry juice and 7 parts water. It wakes me up pretty fast, it hydrates me from sleeping all nite (altho I keep a big glass or bottle of water on my nightstand for during the night), and it flushes my body. The unsweetened cranberry is pretty tart so I’m not sure if that’s what wakes me up or the fruit itself, but it works well for the reasons I drink it.

My true love in the morning, after a big meal, or in the afternoon when I really need a pick-me-up is coffee. I pretty much gave up diet sodas for water a few years ago per WeightWatchers instructions to drink at least 8 glasses per day.

I probably only took up coffee because my Dad used to drink it. I was definitely a “Daddy’s Girl”. I remember he used to drink it with cream and sugar and it would just taste so good. I wasn’t really allowed to drink it at home except when I would steal a sip while getting it for him, but every Sunday in between the 2 services at our church I could get coffee and stand there so grown up for my 9 years.

Later in my teen years, when my father affectionately started calling me “Bubbles” because of getting fat in puberty, I laid off the cream and sugar as a way to decrease my intake of calories. I’ve drank it black now for so many years, that I can’t hardly stand the sweet in it anymore if I actually get one with sugar.

I probably drink at least 12 cups a day as a minimum, so you can imagine my dismay a few years back when they came out with the big coffee scare that it was so bad for us. Like most things to do with health they have done a backflip on that and now say it’s actually good for us and has antioxidants that prevent certain diseases. (I wish they’d come out with a study like that for a fifth of vodka. LOL)

The other day in my inbox is the headline “Coffee Could Be Sabatoging Your Weight Loss”. My heart jumped. I drink so much coffee, and I never thought of it having any calories. I just don’t count it at all. Most of the article talked about all the stuff we put in our coffee, or the special coffees we get at those “special coffee” places, but it did get me to wondering how many calories I was consuming per day.

The internet seems to be a bit confused as to whether an 8 oz. cup has 2, 5 or 9 calories per cup. A lot of the sites that have their oppinion on how many calories don’t tell you anything about what else is in there.  The nutritional facts below is the one I’ve decided to go with, and at 2 calories per cup, I don’t think it’s going to make or break me. Notice the “B” vitamins and the amount of protein? Who’da thunk? No wonder we get moving. LOL

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 8 fl. oz.


Amount per Serving     8 oz.

Calories 2 Calories from Fat 0

% Daily Value *
Total Fat 0g 0%
    Saturated Fat  0g 0%
    Monounsaturated Fat  0g
    Polyunsaturated Fat  0g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 5mg 0%
Potassium 116mg 3%
Total Carbohydrate 0g 0%
    Dietary Fiber  0g 0%
Protein 0.3g 1%

Vitamin E 0%
Thiamin (B1) 2%
Riboflavin (B2) 11%
Niacin (B3) 2%
Folic Acid (Folate) 1%
Magnesium 2%
Panthothenic Acid 6%

Est. Percent of Calories from:

Fat 0.0%     Carbs 0.0%
Protein 60.0%

8 Responses

  1. I pretty much drink one cup of coffee per day. When dieting, I switch to decaf…cuz they say the caffiene is not good when trying to lose weight. Whatever, right?

    Thanks for the reminder about Cranberry juice. I have not had any in ages and LOVE it!

  2. I’d be an unhappy girl without my daily coffee as well. I drink coffee, tea and… yep… water! I feel like I drink enough water in a day to float a boat. I have certainly changed up the things that go in my coffee, and I limit myself to around 4 cups a day (just because that leaves me plenty of time to consume entire lakes of water.) I’d never thought about the nutritional information for the coffee itself, so this post interested me. Thanks!! I’m glad to know that the calories are so minimal!

  3. Hey Nothing Fancy, thanks for stopping by. I love cranberry also, but unfortunately I love the kind full of sugar. Getting used to drinking the unsweetened first thing in the morning has taken some getting used to again. LOL

    Sweetie Pie- So nice to sort of “meet you”. I love your blog and your success. Glad you stopped by here or I may have missed you. I know what you mean about the water. Good grief! But it does help. Adding you to my blogroll so every one can share in your success story.

  4. I didn’t start drinking coffee until about a year ago, but I’m a self-admitted coffee sissy and have to have lots of fat-free french vanilla creamer which isn’t good for the waistline, I know. I’m trying to give it up just to save the calories but I’m having a hard time. I wish I could drink it black but I can NOT acquire a taste for it.

  5. I love my coffee. I don’t really need it to wake up. I can drink a cup and go right to sleep. Caffeine doesn’t seem to affect me. But I do love it. Of course I secretly think I really just like flavored creamers and not the coffee. I would like to be a grown-up and drink it black but can only do that when I have a nice sweet dessert with it. I’m never going to lose weight. Ugh!

  6. SMB- I use it to wake me up, but at times I can drink it and go right to sleep also. I think it’s because I drink so much that it doesn’t always affect me the way it would if I didn’t drink it a lot. I love the flavored creamers also, but haven’t found any non-fat. I usually use a little hot cocoa mix ( low cal, low fat) when I want a special treat in my coffee. Yummmm, coffee mocha and no guilt. I make up for it other places, damn it. LOL.

  7. Midlife Slices- I’m surprised you started drinking coffee at all if you waited till recently. I can’t really blame anyone for not being able to aquire a taste for it black. It did take some getting used to for me, but then I went through the same thing developing my taste for scotch. LOL

  8. Great article, good to know all these folks who heavily rely on their coffee aren’t stacking up too many calories. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    http://www.totalfitnessreview.org

Leave a Reply

