I Love Science And Weight Loss

When you’ve dieted as many times and for as many years of your life as I have, you get to a point where just about everything you hear is the “same old stuff”, which I guess no matter how you cut it, it keeps being the same old stuff because that’s what works.

“Watch the calories. Burn more than you eat.” blah, blah, blah.

Every once in awhile science makes a breakthrough that helps the same old stuff work better or faster. One of those new things is the way we exercise.

I get a lot of health magazines and newsletters. I sell vitamins and nutritional supplements so I like to keep up with that kind of information. Some of the newsletters I get are from doctors that don’t necessarily “conform to the norm”. LOL. They do a lot of their own research, come up with their own theories, and fight an uphill battle until the regular populous of doctors “get it”.  One such doctor is Dr. Al Sears.

I have read his articles and looked at his P.A.C.E. program for exercise for years. His big thing in life seems to be making people aware that cardio is actually bad for your health (heart) and the way we should be exercising for health and weight loss. Now his way of thinking has pretty much taken off. While they don’t tell you how bad cardio for extended periods of time is for you, they are preaching more about circuit training and interval training as a way of boosting your metabolism and burning more fat.

The first one to “get it” was Curves, the gym that was basically women only and you move between resistance training and cardio every 30 seconds. They had everything set up in a circle and you move from machine to running in place to machine to running, until you completed the circle twice. For a beginner, I thought that worked pretty well. If you were more experienced you could always ramp it up.

Now as I look at some of the trainings for these marathon and half marathon runners, they are teaching the interval training. The “Couch to 5K” is a great example of that. It’s where you do bursts of high intensity in between regular brisk walking. This kind of exercise is supposed to strengthen your heart, plus keep your metabolism working long after your done. They say their interval training will have anyone running 3 miles in just 2 months following their plan.

Since getting older and so much more sedentary than I’ve ever been, strengthening the heart is a biggy for me. They say the reason that people run marathons and then kiel over dead when appearing to be in perfect health is that while running, the heart is under constant stress. The interval training “conditions” it vs. stressing it.

Did you know if you just stand instead of sitting one more hour per day, you burn an extra 100 calories? I thought that was interesting.

Also being post- menapausal the things that used to work for me to lose weight aren’t working any more. My body reacts differently to things than it used to. I’ve been using the interval training and the circut training, and I do feel a difference. Now I just need to be a bit better about my eating plan.

Speaking of eating, any body else go to Superbowl parties yesterday where there is much more food on the buffet table than there are people to eat it?

4 Responses

  1. I’m just getting back into the exercising thing and now that I’m menopausal, I’m wondering how hard it will be for me to make improvements. I like the interval training theories. They make sense to me, and I’ve used some versions of interval training in long-ago workouts. Time will tell how well I do, since I am weak when it comes to saying NO to all the food floating around me . . .

  2. I’ve just started a new exercise program today. Nothing else has worked but I can’t give up.

  3. SMB- Good luck with the exercise. I know it’s a neccessary thing, I just wish my body could do it without me. LOL

    KJ- I totally understand about the menopause thing. I think since gaining is a natural part of the changing body, it makes us work a little harder than we used to have to. I really do believe after a lot of the research I’ve done that being able to do strength training or circuit training along with cardio is the most efficient way to go. Good luck.

    A little note on the food thing- An old boyfriend used to say I was one of those that lived to eat vs. eat to live. Guess that pretty much says it all on how I feel about food. LOL

  4. Cant give up on weight-loss, results dont come over night!

    http://www.totalfitnessreview.org

Leave a Reply

