If It’s White, Don’t Bite…

That seems to be the mantra these days. No white sugar, no white potatoes, and no white bread. For me, that’s a tuff one. I could probably do without the white sugar, I don’t eat that much sugar anyway, but I am a bread and potato freak! More than once I have had just a baked potato for lunch and I can’t imagine my life without mashed potatoes. LOL. What I have done is quit eating white bread.

Even when you’re trying to do the right thing, the food manufacturers have their own agenda. Obviously they will do anything to get you to buy their products, including “lie”. They say “whole grain” on the front of the package, but it may be a little whole grain in the middle of a bunch of processed white flour. I had to really hunt to get a truly 100% whole wheat that didn’t have “high fructose corn syrup”, another manufactured poison.

I was over visiting run4change this morning and he had a video up from RunnersWorld . This lady doctor is going through the pantry getting rid of stuff. It was a good video, but I think mostly stuff us dieters already know. They actually have several little short videos on RunnersWorld and I found it pretty interesting, even tho they’re geared more for runners than dieters. I decided this video below would be a little more useful for us.

Update: I don’t know why wordpress won’t let me embed the video, but it won’t, so if you click on the RunnersWorld link it will take you to the videos. There’s a really good one on snacking. You can eat quite a bit of candy for 250-450 calories. Of course the fat is another story. LOL.

10 Responses

  1. Thank you for this post. i have been preaching this for years now. White suger, white rice, white posta and white bread are all bad for us. Thank you again for this post

  2. The deadly whites I have heard. It’s a shame, but remember years ago when our parents ate whites with no problem? What’s up with that? It’s sad the whites have gotten a bad rap, but I think it is more the ‘chemicals’ and ‘processing’ they do that create more of the problem. I mean, most of the grocery store food was made in a lab! I love my white’s but I too have given up most of them, and all boxed stuff. Just give me a carrot I guess..;-(

    Good luck!

  3. My mother used to say: “The whiter the bread, the quicker you’re dead.”

  4. SMB- I guess that pretty well says it all, doesn’t it? LOL. So are you real good about whole grains, etc. I was raised the old fashioned “meat and potatoes” way so the change has been a little more difficult for me.

    SandySpell- Thanks for stopping by and welcome. Good for you on giving up most of the whites. If you’ve given up most of the box stuff you’re doing way better than me. I’m into convenience. LOL.

    OracleMag- Welcome to you also. I know I’ve heard it for years, and for awhile I even used “raw” sugar. I’m really trying to get better about using other foods like yams,etc. It’s just kind of slow going.

  5. I know its hard, and its costly. I try to do what I can. whole bread cost almost 3 times as much as white bread. I feel more people would eat healthier food if it were more affordable.

  6. I can’t remember the last time I had a slice of white bread. Oh how I long for it. One day, I will sit down, have some white bread loaded with full-blown butter and a full calorie Coca-Cola. I won’t know how to act, for sure!

  7. There is an interesting article on “Nutrition Know How” blog about some of the misperceptions about High Fructose Corn Syrup. You can read it here: http: http://nutritionknowhow.org/wordpress/?p=683
    – FT on behalf of the Corn Refiner’s Association

  8. theoraclemag- I agree with you. It’s sort of like “unleaded” gasoline. If anything is low-fat etc. you pay extra for them to take it out. LOL. It seems so wrong.

    Nothing Fancy- I still miss white bread too. LOL. Especially when I get a loaf for my mother and it’s so soft. Yum, but I don’t eat it. I don’t drink much soda anymore, so I’ve gotten where I really don’t like the diet ones (except for cherry coke) and I won’t drink the ones with 8TBS. of sugar, so I basically stick to water and coffee.

    FT- Thanks for stopping by and giving your input. I read the article and then went to the diabetes link. The study in June said that results are inconclusive. One of the doctors said there was no correlation between sugar and weight gain, and we all no that’s not true.
    Even giving benefit of the doubt, HFCS still contributes to higher tryglicerides, fatty liver, etc. You might want to take a look at the presentation by Dr. Jean Schwartz. It’s very interesting, particularly when it comes to children.

  9. FROM A YOUNG AGE MOTHER BEAR TAUGHT ME. No White Fat, No White Salt, No White Flour (BREAD) No White Sugar, etc. every morning for breakfast Rolled Oats, Flax seed 2 Tablespoons ground in a coffee grinder and kept in the freezer , 6 Prunes. + only use Wholemeal Bread, some times Rye bread ,no seeded bread, seeds can get stuck in Colon and cause BIG problems.

  10. Twisted- Welcome. How lucky you were. Sounds like you got healthy training right out of the gate. I truly do believe a lot of what we eat is more habit than true preference. I eat the flaxseed ground in my yogurt, but I never really knew anything about it until the last couple of years. Thank God for it as it helped to make menopause a breeze! One thing though is that seeded bread, strawberries, etc. usually only irritates a problem in the colon if you already have a problem there. They’ve pretty much chalked that one up as an old wife’s tale. I had to study up on it when my mother had surgery removing part of her bowel due to divirticulitis (or something like that. LOL).

Leave a Reply

