While Little Endorphins Dance In My Head

I thought this would be a great time to write a post, right after exercising! Yeah, I went. I joined the gym last Thurs. While I was there I saw a lady that could have been me. Standing on one of the machines like a treadmill but it has individual places to put your feet, like you’re really walking, trying to figure out how to run the darn thing. I felt sorry for her and knew right away I didn’t want to look like that. The unfortunate thing about a lot of these gyms is unless you’re paying for a personal trainer, you really have to ask for help. Nobody volunteers just because they see you in trouble. LOL.

Since then, Friday I didn’t go because I had a bunch of running around to do. I figure that’s exercise enough. Saturday and Sunday I didn’t go because it’s the weekend and I figured it would be too crowded. Yesterday I didn’t go because I had an early appointment on the other side of the hill, about 30 min. away and that turned out to be an all day excursion. This morning was it!

A business mentor that I follow quite a bit says you need to develop a routine to be more productive and take care of your health. My routine this morning was to not allow myself on the computer until I worked out, for starters. I had 2 cigarettes, a cup and a half of coffee and I was out the door by 7 am.  (I slept in a little today). I wasted some time getting going as I was looking up the routine I have chosen to follow. I needed a little refresher. I made the decision I was not going to be one of those people that pays notto work out. I did the treadmill slow and fast, slow and fast, for about 10 min. and 10 min. of circuit training. I feel like a tigress. grrrrrr. LOL.

WW Mustard Chops

WW Mustard Chops

I’ve also been doing pretty good with my WeightWatchers recipes, but I have discovered I’m quite the “ad libber”. I really don’t like to use oil to cook, especially if something already has a little bit of fat on it. I buy lean chops and usually use the little tiny strip of fat around the edge to grease the pan.

This was from their “Stir it Up: Super Skillet Cookbook”. I’m into “easy” and this certainly was.

You just fry up the chops until browned on both sides. Remove from pan.

Add 1/2 cup chicken broth, 1/4 cup of orange juice, and 2 TBSP dijon mustard. I used spicey brown. My Dijon had expired sometime in 2006. LOL. They also use 1 cup of orange sections. I did that this time, but I don’t know if I will again. I really didn’t care for them cooked.

Stir up everything with the pan drippings of the pork. Put the pork chops back in and finish cooking for 3 or 4 min. You’re set to go.

They were moist and delicious. I thought about serving sweet potatoes with them. I know some recipes for yams or sweet potatoes have orange juice in them also and I thought the flavor would carry through. Instead I did fried potatoes and onions, steamed veggies and applesauce.

WW uses a lot of “pork loin” vs. pork chops, but around here pork loin can get rather expensive so I just use pork chops, but make sure they are really lean or I trim them really lean. 1 average chop above is 5 points.

Last nite I lucked out and Tom cooked. He makes the best pork roast, sauerkraut and mashed potatoes, but he was thumbing through my book and decided to use their recipe which adds apples and apple juice. It was wonderful and the apple didn’t make it too sweet like I was afraid of. Yum, yum. I just have to remember 1/2 cup of mashed potatoes really is enough. LOL

4 Responses

  1. Good for you, exercising! I need to take the plunge….

    Yesterday I sent away for a registration packet to participate int he Avon Breast Cancer walk. It is a whole weekend, 39 mile total walk. EEGHADS, am I insane?

    Pork chops look good. I guess it’d work with lamb, too. I got lamp chops in my share in the Meat CSA we joined recently. Trying to think of how to cook them. I like mustard, but my son doesn’t, so I’m not sure this recipe would work for my family. That’s a lot of the trick, isn’t it?

    I started counting points again three days go after going over my limit on weight. Ugh. Does that mean I’m not a lifetime member any more…? I haven’t been back to a meeting ’cause I’m afraid to ask. Hey, why don’t you ask for me?!!

    Ask them what happens if someone achieves lifetime membership, goes each month and weighs in dutifully and then doesn’t show for three months. If I come back at goal weight, will they take me back no questions asked? What happens if I come back over the 2 lbs over goal weight limit? Do they flog me with a wet noodle? LOL

  2. I like that idea of establishing a routine that you must stick with. I used to do the EAS Fit for Life workout, and every morning, you had to work out before you ate breakfast so your body would have to eat its own fat stores before anything else. I lost poundage and really got into shape fast. You have to be committed to doing that, but that’s why it’s so good. I need to find that routine again. Sadly . . . I’d rather eat.

    KJ

  3. I’m with you! I’d rather eat too, that’s my problem. LOL. It sounds like you had your routine working for you before, I’m sure you’ll get there again if you want to. With the grandkids around who needs structured exercise? LOL.

  4. Wow you’re braver than me. I’ve been hearing a lot about the Susan Koman 3 day walk and they go 60 miles. At first I was actually thinking about it (must’ve had too much wine or something. lol) but then I realized no matter how you cut it, that’s at least 20 miles a day. At my best I only walked 10. Now I try not to listen to the commercials. LOL. Good luck to you. You’re in a lot better shape than I am and used to moving around all day. You’ll do just fine! I can’t wait to read about it on your blog.

    I love lamb, but the BF can’t stand the smell of it cooking so I haven’t had any in a REALLY LONG TIME. LOL. WW has a ton of good lamb recipes so at least you don’t have to pick something you can taste the mustard in like you can this one. Of course, it’s mixed with orange, etc. he may not taste it if he doesn’t catch you putting it in.

    I don’t think they ask where you’ve been if you go back to WW after three months, altho they probably will at your local meeting because they know you so well. It is my understanding tho that if you gain too much you go back to paying, just like the rest of us. If that’s the case, it won’t take you long to get back to being a “freebie” LOL.

Leave a Reply

