Christmas Food Traditions

At our house we’re a pretty traditional type family, which meands we pretty much cook and serve the same things year after year. One reason for this is to keep the tradition, the other is because my mother usually has a fit when we change things. LOL. She very rarely likes what new thing we try, altho my sister has had better luck at this than I have. I guess being the oldest I’m the one who is supposed to carry the family traditions through. LOL.

One of the dishes that was a tradition growing up was a thing called Strawberry Delight. My mother had told us years ago she had lost the recipe, so I haven’t made it in quite awhile, and I’ve missed it. It’s just as light as can be and such a great taste. Yesterday morning I spent a couple of hours hunting down the recipe on the net, but to no avail. While I could remember what didn’t go in it, I could not remember what did.

When my mother woke up I started questioning her, trying to get some information on ingredients and she asked why I didn’t just go get the recipe out of her blue notebook. Ughhh. Of course I make substitutions now since I worry more about my weight than I did growing up, but it’s still a wonderful fruit “salad” to serve with dinner or an excellent dessert after a large meal.

Our version of “Strawberry Delight” (Can be lemon if you prefer)

This makes a 9×13 inch pan and serves 12

My mother used to make this on the holidays and it was so good, but light as air.

The nutritional calculator seems to be off. I don’t know if I edited too many times or what! LOL
30 Minutes to Prepare 

Ingredients

Strawberries, frozen, unsweetened, 2 packages, thawed
1 large package Strawberry Jello prepared with 21/4 cups boiling water,
1 cup sugar (4 Tbsp for crust)
2 cans chilled, evaporated skimmed milk
Graham Crackers, low fat, plain, 48 large rectangular piece
1 cup low fat margerine

Directions

Using an 9×13 inch pan it yields 12 servings.
Mix strawberry jello and sugar (save 4 tbsp. for grahm cracker crust) with boiling water. Let cool till syrupy, then whip. Whip chilled canned milk. Whip milk and syrupy jello together, add strawberries and whip them all together.
Roll the 48 graham crackers fine. Add 4 Tbsp. sugar and 1 cup melted butter or margarine. Pack 1/2 mix into pan for a crust. Pour in Strawberry mixture. Sprinkle balance of crumbs evenly on top. Set in refrigerator to harden.

I’ll be posting some XMAS gifts either later today or tomorrow. I hope everyone is having a wonderful holiday, which ever one you celebrate!

Leave a Reply

