Time For Soup, Soup, Soup

Ooooh, the cold weather is starting to roll in. I call this the “Time to stay comfy, cozy” weather. For us in Silicon Valley the days are still pretty nice (60-65) but the nights and early mornings are cooling down a lot. We may even have frost this week.

For me it’s  a time when I like to be all wrapped up in soft cuddly clothes and eat nice hot soups and pots of beans, usually with cornbread. I usually make the cornbread from a mix using my eggbeaters and shedd spread so it’s not too fat and calorie laden.

I think I’ll visit “A Year of Crockpotting” and see if she soaks her beans before she puts them in the crockpot, or if you can just put them in there with water. I usually use a big old pot, so I’m not sure how to do it in the crockpot, and I think I would like to do that more often this year. I came across what looks like a really good recipe for a lentil soup, but haven’t made it yet.

Here’s a recipe for a Ministone I got from a supermarket magazine. I just love it. The flavor is so good, it’s vegetarian (for my daughter) and it’s only 2 points for a whole cup, which is pretty filling.

Yummy Minestroni

Hearty Minestrone Soup

INGREDIENTS
3 stalks celery, sliced
3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
1 large onion, chopped
2 (32-oz.) cans beef broth
1 (8.75-oz.) can kidney beans, rinsed and
drained
1 (6-oz.) can tomato paste
1 cup Nob Hill Trading Co. Burgundy Marinara
Sauce
2 tsp. Italian herb seasoning
3/4 cup Sunny Select small shell pasta
Prepared basil pesto

DIRECTIONS
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 45 minutes

Nutrition Per Serving: 127 calories, 7 g protein, 3 g fat, 19 g carbohydrate, 3 g fiber, 1 mg cholesterol, 775 mg sodium

Place all ingredients except pasta and pesto in a large stockpot. Bring to a boil; cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Add pasta and cook, uncovered, for 15 minutes longer. Spoon into large bowls and swirl a teaspoon of pesto into each.

Makes 8 servings.

We use regular Classico Spaghetti sauce instead of the Marinara, but I love it. Thank you Railey’s Nob Hill  for your great recipes!

10 Responses

  1. Beans are so great for keeping you feeling full; I include them in more than half the soups I make. I know it is not typical, but I also like to throw a bit of brown rice in my Minestrone. It’s not authentic by any stretch, but it completes the protein and adds a bit of flavor. You do need to add a bit more liquid though.

  2. Wow, I’m so glad you stopped by. I took a look at your site. what fun. I can’t wait to explore it a little more and use some of your recipes. I can always use some “tips” and something new.
    Thanks again for the comment.

  3. Excellent recipe. Thanks! I always put beans in my minestrone, sometimes blending half of them and adding it to the soup for thickener.

  4. Mm, I love soup – and kidney beans.

  5. Sounds like just what I need for a light meal to balance out all the junk I’ve been eating. ugh!

  6. I know what you mean. I’ve actually been pretty good, but I’m going for brunch today and I always end up eating at those things like I’m never going to get another chance. LOL.

  7. Oh yah, nothing like the warm and fuzzy cuddly foods for the winter time. I love these foods. I tend to eat a little to much of them but I love them. I lost 130 lbs eating foods like these but more healthy weight watcher types you know.

    http://run4change.wordpress.com

  8. run4change- Glad to see you made it by here. Even tho the soup recipe comes from Raley’s Nob Hill, it’s only 2 WW points per cup. A lot of us do WW and convert a lot of the nutritional info to points. 130 lbs. is very impressive. Maybe you’ll have some influence on me. LOL.

  9. Hey all!

    My name is James and Im new around here 🙂. So far this is an awesome place for information and I’ve spent a ton of time reading and browsing around. Look forward to hearing from you!

  10. Hi James- Welcome and Happy New Year to you. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

