Okay I’m Stress Eating Today

You know I never really considered myself an emotional eater. I found out today that I guess I am. I am always “stressed” to a certain extent, but today I am SUPER STRESSED, and I found that I not only want to eat more and eat more wrong things, but I am “willfully disobedient”. Willfully disobedient to me means that I have thought about the action, I have thought about the consequences,Ā  and I do the action even tho I know better. That’s where I’m at. How do you fight it?

I’m serious. When you think about what you are about to eat, you check out the calories, fat, carbs involved, you tell yourself that you really shouldn’t do it, and then you do it anyway, how do you stop yourself?Ā  This is what I do.

It started out early this morning. I desperately wanted cookies to go in my coffee. Not desperate enough to go get some. I started looking around the kitchen to see what I could have instead. Turned into 2 pieces of diet bread turned into toast with peanut butter and jelly. Didn’t do it. Later the feeling never subsided and I kept telling myself I really needed to eat something more substantial. That didn’t work out either. So I decided to bake a cake.

I took a chocolate cake mix, used eggbeaters for the eggs, added lite cherry pie filling and baked at 350 for 30 minutes according to the box directions. It’s wonderful. I had two “nibbles” not even equalling a whole piece and I’ve been happy ever since.

I didn’t:

go out and indulge myself in bakery goods or sweets where I had no control over the ingredients.

I only ate enough to obviously satisfy me, because I never went back for more.

I feel good because, while I indulged in emotional eating I was still able to control it and not just devestate my self esteem by feeling guilty after I ate.

How do you handle these moments? We all go through them and I am into suggestions. I’ve eaten out of boredom and I recognize that, but this one kind of threw me.

4 Responses

  1. I’m always doing things I told myself not to do… but I’ve been realizing there’s a bit more to life than doing everything by the book. For instance, I’ve been wrestling with myself over my recent interest in perfumes. These things are luxury goods, they go off fast if you don’t use them or if you store them incorrectly, they’re expensive, some people are allergic to them… and they’re not really good for us. And yet… when I wear the ones I like, my spirits surge. I’ve felt more confident when going out wearing perfume.

    I think we need the little fillips that are on offer… the perfume, the chocolate cakes, the books and other goods we didn’t need to buy… I wouldn’t go so far as to say we should always have what we want, especially hugely expensive things like motorhomes or bigger cars. But that’s the place the little things have in our lives, and is probably the reason why we ignore our own warning words and go for them anyway. šŸ™‚

    That’s my current theory, anyway. Sometimes we can accept an alternative, but more often not.

  2. I do eat when Im stressed!!

  3. I love perfume also. I used to pick it by the name, according to how I was feeling. Goofy. LOL.

  4. I’m a total stress eater. My issue is that I seem to know I’m out of control but I don’t do anything about it until my weight gets to a certain level. Then It’s back to counting points, etc. I’d like to learn how to not go that far….

    I’m proud of you for figuring out a way to indulge your need for sweets but keep it from damaging your psyche. LOL! Good job. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

