Holiday Cookies Are Not Diet Friendly!

homemade xmas cookies

homemade xmas cookies

I went to a cookie swap this morning. My first ever! It was a combination cookie swap and charity drive run by our “Neighborhood Association”. They use the Multi Use room at our elementary school here in the neighborhood and there were 4 charities they were collecting for. ‘Tis the season’ you know. They had one charity that collected jackets and coats, one shoes, one clothes of any use etc., and blankets and towels for the local animal shelter. I usually donate most my stuff to “Hope” but kept forgetting to call them for a pick up so this was perfect.

As far as the cookie swap, while I love to bake it seems since I’ve gotten older I don’t have a lot of patience for cookies. If I want to bake cookies I spread all the batter in the bottom of a pan, cook them all at once, and cut them into bars when they’re done. This making 15 trips back and forth to the oven to bake them a dozen at a time, while it may be a way of getting some more steps in, isn’t for me. I bought mine at the grocery store. I’m doing my share to boost the economy. The only problem is they definitely were not low calorie, low carb, or low fat. I’m sure none of the ones I traded for were either. Thank goodness my mother will eat a good portion of them even tho she doesn’t need them any more than I do. This is how it starts.

I’ve made up for the couple of pounds from Thanksgiving, but it’s all the little parties, cookie swaps, etc. that cause the extra pounds between now and New Year’s. I feel sorry for all you people who work in offices as the treats, potlucks, etc. are never ending. I feel sorry for me because working at home I’m not a part of it. LOL.

So I am offering these tips for holiday eating. I broke two of the rules at Thanksgiving already. I love eggnog, tho I do buy lowfat. It has to have some sort of alcohol. See how many of these you can follow. These are not tips we haven’t all heard before, so consider this a gentle reminder.

Tips For Healthy Holiday Eating
When the holidays arrive, many people forget all about their diets and healthy eating. Weight gains of 7 – 10 pounds are common between
Halloween and Christmas. To make the holidays easier, these tips will help you with healthy eating through the season and not gaining weight.
1). Most traditional foods can be made low fat.
Turkey is very lean without the skin, and gravy can be made without any fat. Potatoes that are served without butter can be very healthy. The beloved pumpkin pie is nutritious, although it can be made into a fatty dessert with the adding of whipped cream.

2). Even though the holidays are in, don’t forget
about the exercise.
Keeping weight off during the holiday season is burning off the extra calories. You should plan a walk after meals,
park farther from stores when you shop, and take a few walks around the mall before you begin shopping.

3.)During holiday parties and at family dinners, feel free to sample foods although you shouldn’t splurge. Decide on what you plan to eat in advance, then stick to your plan. Eat plenty of vegetables, fruit, low fat dressings, and slices of lean meats. Before you go to a party, eat a small snack to help curb your appetite.

4). If at all possible, avoid alcohol. Having too many drinks can cripple your will power, and also add excess calories to your diet. In the
place of alcohol, drink water with lemon. Water can help to limit your appetite and keep you from binging. Also make sure to avoid eggnog,
as each glass can have up to 300 calories.

5). Be flexible with your healthy eating, as one bad
meal won’t ruin your diet.
Try to balance your
calories over a few days and don’t just look at
one meal or day.

5 Responses

  1. Those are some good suggestions! Thanks. (I just posted a recipe for truffles that is not at all weight watchers friendly. Ah, well.)

  2. Thanks for the great tips. I’ll need them.

  3. It’s a good thing I don’t bake cookies too much anymore. Reading all these great recipes sure get me in the mood!

  4. But they look soooo good!

Leave a Reply

