I Love Quiche!

Quiche For Dinner

Quiche For Dinner

I remember the first time I ever had quiche. I was a whole 20 yrs. old and I went to a wedding shower for a girlfriend I worked with at a medical clinic. They had such an array of wonderful food. The table was just beautiful (but then she always was that “perfect homemaker” kind of person). This also, was the first time I had raw veggies and dip. I’ve been eating both ever since.

Like most people, I had always thought quiche was one of those “almost impossible” dishes, kind of like a good souffle. Then I got a “Quiche” recipe book for Christmas and found out how easy it was. I make my own “Lower Fat” version, which could probably be even lower fat if I would make my own crusts, but I don’t want to push it. LOL. I posted this recipe to SparkPeople this morning, I thought I would go ahead and post it here.


This is still a little high in fat, but nothing like the original. There are so many variations to this you can do. Rounded out with a green salad makes it a great meal for dinner also.
45 Minutes to Prepare and Cook – Makes 16 servings (2 pies)
Ingredients

2 Deep Dish Frozen Pie Shells
2 Cups Egg Substitute (egg beaters)
2 Cups Fat Free Half and Half (Land O’ Lakes)
2 Slices of Lean Ham sliced into bite size cubes
2 Cups Kraft 2% Milk Shredded Italian Cheese
5 Green Onions chopped fairly fine 

Directions

Slice the ham slices in strips then slice again going the other way to form bite sized chunks. Divide and lay in the bottom of each pie crust.
Sprinkle 1 cup of cheese over the ham.
Chop the green onion, divide and sprinkle over the ham and cheese in each pie crust.
Beat the eggbeaters and half and half together. Divide and pour half over each pie. Pour slowly as it has a tendancy to run over if rushed.
Place on a cookie sheet in a 375 degree oven for 35-45 min. until custard is puffed and tests done, and the crust is golden brown. Let stand for 5 min. before serving.

Amount Per Serving

WeightWatchers points: 4

  • Calories: 183.6
    • Total Fat: 9.7 g
    • Cholesterol: 17.3 mg
    • Sodium: 553.5 mg
    • Total Carbs: 11.1 g
    • Dietary Fiber: 0.2 g
    • Protein: 12.6 g

    4 Responses

    1. It looks very good. 🙂
      I would like to do more cooking. I made a frittata once but didn’t like it… I don’t think it was a very good recipe.

    2. I love quiche too. But sadly, my son is allergic to eggs, so I dont do any cooking/baking that involves eggs these days.

      Here’s hoping he outgrows the egg allergy!

    3. Thanks for the recipe! This looks delicious, and it’s so nice to have the points value figured out! I’ve got some great broccoli at home — maybe I’ll blanch it and include it in a quiche. Yummo!

    4. Thanks for the comments everyone.

      Diddums- I’ve thought about a frittata, but I’m not sure I would like it either. I still have it on a “back burner” so to speak. Maybe one of these days. LOL

      Nothing Fancy- That must be so hard! Eggs are in so many things. My middle daughter was born with exzema and eggs and dairy used to make it worse, but luckily she did out grow it.

      writinggb- Glad you liked. I needed to finally figure out the points for me too. Just telling myself it wasn’t as bad as the regular wasn’t working to good. LOL. Broccoli would be good. That’s what I like about this is being able to change as you like. Shrimp is good too.

    Leave a Reply

