A Little Weight Loss News For Today

So much going on! Happy Monday everybody. Time to get back on track if you fell off over the weekend. Of course I say that because I did. LOL. On Saturday an organization I belong to had their annual BBQ and of course I had to go and show my support. The only thing diet friendly in that buffet line was the BBQ chicken, if you take the skin off. They did have steamed clams which to me is a real treat, but even they were laying in water loaded with butter, the better for dipping your garlic bread. I guess it really isn’t too bad because when I eat like that in the middle of the afternoon, I hardly eat anything for dinner. Very light. I was back on track for Sunday.

Gila MonsterFirst piece of news I wanted to share today is an article I read from KPHO news in Phoenix about “lizard spit and weight loss”. It seems they already use the poisonous venom of the Gila monster to control diabetes, and I guess it works pretty well.

It turns out that those diabetics taking the prescribed medicine are also losing weight. One doctor says her patients have averaged a weight loss of 18 lbs. One of her patients has lost 40 lbs. and is very happy. They’re working on a stronger label because people who take the “lizard spit” could have problems with their pancreas, altho doctors seem to think the benefits outweigh the risks. They’re getting ready to start a new study as we speak. Watch out Alli (which doesn’t seem to work as well as first thought). You may have some strong competition on the horizon.

Next, good old Dr. Phil. There wasn’t really anything on the show on Fri. but he does have a 14 day Rapid Start  plan on his sit. It’s supposed to give you a head start on controlling your sugar and salt cravings and get your body ready for accelerated weight loss. It averages about 1100 to 1200 calories a day. You don’t have to sign in or sign up for anything and you may find it helpful as he gives an actual menu plan. Just scroll down past the plug for his book.

I told you about him having 7 Keys for Weight Loss the other day. On the site they’re on key 1 which is “right thinking”. Take a look around. It’s pretty interesting and helpful. A lot of “homework”, but I guess if you want to find the underlying causes, that’s a good thing.

2 Responses

  1. EEEW! Poisonous lizard spit! What will they think of next?

  2. I know, isn’t that crazy? Thanks for the comment. At least I know I’m not the only one that thinks this is nuts! LOL. I want to know how they get the first person to test it.

Leave a Reply

