Some Rules Are Just Meant To Be Broken…

And that’s probably why I’m still fat. LOL.

This weekend was an art and wine festival in a small town about 20 min. north of us. I used to love those things, and I still do because of the unique items you can find that you can’t find anywhere else. I always end up finding some thing that I just have to have that costs way to much, but I know I’ll never see another one. This year I didn’t visit many booths having to watch the pocketbook a little closer than usual (or maybe I’ve just grown a little more responsible). With the BF getting laid off about 3 weeks ago, I’m a little pickier on where and how I spend “our” money.

I belong to the Eagles auxiliary, which for those of you who don’t know, they’re an organization like the Moose, or the Elks, and they always have a “women of the” side. On festival weekends that are held downtown like the Art and Wine Festival, one of my girlfriends makes homemade corndogs and polish corndogs, and sells them to raise money for the club. I don’t know what batter she uses, but it is delicious and worth every cent (they’re up to $2.50 and $3.50 ea. now). She really has it down to an “art”.

When I had the bar I always knew when the festivals were taking place, and always ordered a couple dozen for the bar. I’ve been closed for a year and a half now so a lot of times I don’t realize when a festival is going on. It’s been longer than that since I’ve had one of her corndogs. Needless to say, I called up and ordered a dozen for home. There’s six of us, so figuring 2 per person… I definitely got my share. One filled me, so I waited awhile and went back for the second one.

According to the nutrition tracker I use, I could only find info on Farmer John Jumbo Corndogs, but it’s probably close enough for government work. Each one is at least 270 calories, 15 grams of fat, and 22 carbs. For me, this is x2. It’s a good thing they only come around once in awhile. I use to go to Weinershnitzel and they had corndogs cheap, but it was never a problem for me. These I just can’t resist. Luckily the only other thing I had to eat yesterday was some home made macaroni salad, which isn’t good either, but I was still under my daily goal, even with the 3 vodka waters I had at the festival. LOL

3 Responses

  1. Ouch! Sorry about the BF getting laid off. My husband got laid off Aug. 31, too. He is in a new job that pays half as much and is ten times the commute, but the people are very nice and the work is great. Sigh. Can’t have it all.

    Anyway, good luck to BF.

  2. Thank you so much writinggb. It didn’t take your hubby too long to find work. Thank goodness, aye? Mine used to make really good money in electronics, but that was so dead for so long. When he went to work in the lumber yard, it was half the money but he loved it. In this day and age you just never know, aye? Not like “work for the same company 40 hrs a week for 40 yrs.” Thank you again.

  3. Ah, well, he his nice boss gave him the hint four months ago about being laid off, so actually it took a long time to nail down a new job (at least it felt LOOOONNNNGGGG….)

    You’re so right about things having changed. Loyalty doesn’t count for anything these days in business. Ah, well. My guy is better off where he is now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

