Cold Soup

We still have a few hot days left before Fall moves in and takes over. In California, even fall can be a hot season. On days where the temperature rises to over 85 degrees, the last thing I want is to have to cook or eat a hot (usually heavy) meal. I don’t want to do anything in the oven that adds heat to the kitchen. The crockpot comes in handy, but there again it’s usually a pretty heavy meal of some sort and it’s always hot when it comes out.

I’ve done the “salad” thing with the taco salads and chicken pasta. I’ve made Tacos because while I still have to use the stove, it’s quick and easy, and still like a salad in a tortilla. LOL.

One thing I haven’t gotten used to the is the idea of cold soups. The only ones I’d ever heard of were Gazpacho and probably Cucumber with dill. It seems the people that eat them, swear by them, how refreshing and tasty they are. I don’t know if my mind can accept putting a spoon in my mouth with something my mind thinks should be hot, and yet it’s cold. I did get used to the idea of iced coffee tho, so maybe there’s hope.

Vichyssoise

Vichyssoise

As I was looking thru the ingredients and instructions, (links on the bottom of this post) most of these soups are incredibly easy and require, more often than not, a blender more than a stove. I don’t know what’s the matter with me since I’ve gotten older. I used to be willing to experiment with almost anything! I’ve had some odd dishes that I got from the original WeightWatchers book!

One of my problems is with most soups, a lot of these don’t seem like they would be substantial enough to be a meal that would keep you full for very long. Maybe that’s why Gazpacho is so popular. Made with stale bread, olive oil, garlic, ground almonds, vinegar, tomatoes and peppers, I can see where this may be pretty hardy. What do you serve with it? Today’s versions can be made with tropical fruits, avocados, corn and even watermelon. Strange, aye?

Nowadays they even have “cold fruit” soups. Berry and stone fruit soups are traditional in Scandinavia and Eastern Europe. Berry soups are often accented with a touch of wine and a splash of cream or sour cream. Fresh lemon juice is often used to brighten the flavors of the fruit. They usually garnish puréed soups with whole berries or sliced fruit and a dollop of crème fraiche or sour cream. These can either be a whole meal or a dessert. I’m afraid I’d have to add a touch of fatfree Cool Whip to mine. LOL.

Berry Soup

Berry Soup

 If you’re interested in trying this idea for yourself, I have a few links here to what I think are some pretty neat recipe sites. Altho there are recipes for everything of course, these links go right to the “cold soup” pages.

I usually take versions of recipes and do some substituting for lower fat versions, but for those of you who are interested in getting the low fat, or lower carb, etc.

Last but not least, for my friend writinggb here is a recipe for Scandanavian Fruit soup using dried fruits (which really seems odd to me).

Any feedback if you try any of these would be greatly appreciated. I’d also love to hear if you think the idea of “cold soup” is as odd as I do. LOL

4 Responses

  1. I LOVE cold soups! Thanks for reminding me of some good healthy meal options for the last hot days of summer!

    Can’t wait to get started. Don’t know which to try first, but with my Norwegian blood I think I’ll opt for the cold fruit soups. Grandma will be smiling down on me!

    Anne

  2. Anne, thanks for stopping by. I love hearing someone be so enthusiastic. Makes me move a little closer to trying them. LOL. It’s pretty hot here this week. Maybe this will be the time.

  3. Ah, yes, fruit soup! It’s really more of a fruit stew or a fruit cobbler, without the dough part. I love fruita soupa. Thanks for thinking of me. 🙂

  4. Oh writinggb, when you put it that way it sounds so good! I’m a fruit cobbler freak. It sounds a little more appetizing thinking of it like that.

Leave a Reply

