Doing What You Know…

I went to a free sales training seminar  a couple of months ago. The trainer was absolutely terrific. Out of the two full days of training and tips, the one thing he kept throwing in, and I walked away with is “do what you know”, and he is right.

I probably have dozens of “how to” tapes and guides, etc. on sales training that I’ve bought and collected over the years. Some of what this trainer was teaching was new, but a lot of it was the same stuff I had studied years ago. He said “do what you know”.

The same is true with dieting and exercise. I think we all probably “know” how to lose weight and get in shape, especially if you’ve been around for awhile and dieted for any length of time. I know for me with all the stuff all over the internet about diet and nutrition, I rarely, if ever, come across a “tip” that is news to me.

I am learning new stuff about exercise, but the bottom line’s the same. If you don’t do anything, it doesn’t work. I’m just trying to learn new ways of what moves I make count or work better than some of the old traditional ways.

So, I know that journaling what you eat works. I have never counted calories in my life. I’ve counted carbs, fat grams, points, but never calories. It was always too big a pain in the neck. I am now using a nutrition tracker, similar to WeightWatchers, but it’s free on the web. You track glasses of water, fruits and veggies, and your meals. (It sounds like more of a pain than it is) I’ve found it to be pretty interesting. After you track your food intake, you get a report of cal, fat, carbs, fiber, protein, and a pie chart showing what you should be doing vs. what you are doing. You can set it up to track whatever you’re interested in tracking.

I’m also using the “fitness tracker” to log in my exercise. Do to the new type of fitness exercising I’m doing, my tracking doesn’t exactly fit the “norm”, but I can see progress, etc. anyhow and that’s the main thing. No actually the main thing is I move more so I have something to put on the “tracker”, sort of how a pedometer makes you want to walk more steps. LOL.

So for now I’m “doing what I know” works, and feeling pretty good about it. The free tools you find on line are terrific support and the communities for motivation and encouragement are fabulous. It’s amazing how you subconciously and conciously start making different choices when you can see in black and white what you are doing.

Leave a Reply

