A Lot of Research

I knew I hadn’t been on here in awhile, but I hadn’t realized how long. Everytime I get involved with a new project it’s like I have tunnel-vision until I get it down. Unfortunately some projects take longer and more efforts than others. LOL.

It never ceases to amaze me how the medical community at just the drop of a hat, can turn everything you learned upside down. Of course everything we’ve learned is from the last time they turned things upside down! It’s sort of like nursing a baby. They have flip-flopped on that subject so many times, it’s no wonder new mothers don’t know which way to go.

The latest craze in exercise seems to be interval training. You can see how easily accepted it has been by just seeing how “Curves” took off. To me it makes a lot of sense, plus I’m into anything that purposes to work faster with less effort. Since coming across the “Couch to 5k” workout, I’ve been doing a little more research on some of this stuff. I’m reading an ebook right now from a doctor that came up with a workout that has the same basic idea. He says what the medical community is teaching about cardio is actually detrimental to our heart and lungs. I don’t know if you’ve seen it, but a lot of doctors are proposing that we actually need 60 minutes now of cardio vs. 30 min. that it has advised for years. According to this doctor all that is doing is putting undo stress on our hearts and lungs. When he gives examples of people in perfectly good health keeling over after a long run, it makes his argument a little more plausible.

Another new finding is that our muscles actually need lactic acid. For so many years we were taught to work out under our “lactic threshold”. Now it turns out our muscles actually need to produce more lactic acid as we work out because our muscles use it for fuel. I don’t know how much of the Olympics you’ve been watching, but I like everyone else have been watching all the info coming out about Mark Phelps. One of the things I thought was interesting is they prick his earlobe to test for lactic acid after each one of his swims. They do that supposedly to tell how fatigued he is. What they’re having a hard time understanding is why his levels are lower than most athletes. It would make sense if his muscles are using the lactic acid in his muscle to fuel and energize him, that they would be depleted after a competition.

So, because it makes sense to me, because for me it seems to work fast, I will probably stick to this interval training for awhile. It also seems to provide for a longer “afterburn”. I know walking alone for me went rather slow and now that I’m heavier than I was before, I need to start out easy in whatever I do.

5 Responses

  1. Helpful Facts

  2. Yeh, I’ve heard interval training is best. Good for you, doing this stuff!!

  3. Interesting! Good Luck!

  4. I’m the king of tunnel vision. 🙂 I also work in biomed research. I’ve largely given up on looking to the MD PhDs for “truth” when it comes to fitness. You’d think they were high school kids following the latest fads. 😛

    Anyhow, the lactic acid thing is interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Wow Joe, biomed research sounds really interesting (and deep!)I’m afraid my research is probably just a little more shallow.LOL. The stuff I’ve found lately on exertion is pretty interesting.

Leave a Reply

