I Love Fresh Summer Foods…

It’s so nice this time of year when there are so many good things to choose from! I do my part to buy local (easy with Farmer’s Markets everywhere). I do my part to cut down on …

Sorry, I just got sidetracked by “The View”. I usually just ignore the TV as noise in the background, but this morning was a “Cheesecake Throwdown” where Joy baked her Aunt Rose’s (shouldn’t everyone have an Aunt Rose?) recipe, and Bobby from “The Next Great FoodNetwork Chef” baked his favorite recipe. Oh my gosh, only God himself knows how much I truly love cheesecake, so naturally it caught my attention.  I really need to come up with a good lowfat cheesecake recipe I can put under all these fresh blueberries and strawberries that are in season now!

Anyway, as I was saying. This season helps me wear so many different hats to be the “good girl” for a change. (A little old to be “girl” anything, but you get my drift). I’m environmentally more friendly as I cook more fresh food instead of processed and packaged. I’m a better “dieter” because I find it easier to find so many fresh fresh fruits and veggies to snack on instead of just grabbing something out of the cupboard. I’m doing more for my good health because it’s so easy and doesn’t require a lot of work.

How’s that for a summary of why summer foods are great?!

Just a few other quick tips as reminders.

Don’t forget to journal or track your food. I just read a new study out about how people who track the food they eat actually lose twice the weight of those who don’t just by doing that one thing. (I think we all know that if you’ve dieted for any length of time, but a reminder never hurts).

If you’re looking for motivation, just look around you. It’s easy to see what we don’t want to look like. Just kidding (partly). Really tho, take a look at the message boards on WeightWatchers.com, ediets.com, and SparkPeople.com. They are very encouraging and it does help to be in the middle of a group of people going thru the same struggles we do and know you have company.

That’s about it for the pep talk from me today. Just writing about this has almost given me enough motivation to exercise! LOL

3 Responses

  1. Gotta agree. Just picked three nice cucumbers from my garden. Mmmm…

  2. http://www.fitnrg.com lets you track your diet, calories, exercises, and will help you achieve your fitness and weight loss goals.

  3. […] Original Medical Health Articles-Free Resource For You Keep Body Health […]

Leave a Reply

