One Of The Good Habits…

When I go to the grocery store, I can’t hardly help but walk thru the bakery. One store I go to actually has it set up where you can’t hardly avoid it. (Obviously that’s not the “good habit” part. LOL). I do this even tho I know it’s rather masochistic, sort of a self-torture-type activity.  The part I pat myself on the back for and is a good habit is that I never buy anything out of there. I used to buy the Jalapeno Cheese Bread, but I usually just grab a hunk out of it when it’s fresh and throw the rest away. I have finally resolved to myself that that’s rather a stupid waste of money, so I don’t do it any more.

The reason I manage to be able to do this is that if there is really anything I want that bad, I just tell myself I can make it at home for about half the calories and fat that they have in the bakery. If I make it at home I can control what goes into it. Such was the case for the Coconut Cream Pie I’ve been wanting for a couple of weeks or more. I bought a reduced fat grahm cracker crust, the sugar free, fat free instant pudding, use skim milk, and voila, the easiest, tastiest, lowfat cream pie that would rival any bakery. A dollop of fatfree CoolWhip and I was in hog heaven. LOL.

Yes I still have to do portion control, but I don’t have to feel so guilty. When I make brownies, I use eggbeaters and SheddSpread for the oil. This cuts the fat from 28 grams of fat to 10, just in the oil! For 1/2 cup of eggbeaters it’s 105 calories and 4 grams of fat vs. 2 whole eggs which is 148 calories and 10 grams of fat. When I make quiche I use eggbeaters, fatfree Land O’ Lakes half and half and 2% cheese. I use these tricks when I make my pumpkin and pecan pies for the holidays and they come out delicious! No one can tell the difference. There isn’t much I haven’t been able to substitute that hasn’t worked and hasn’t cut a substantial amount of calories and fat, and I can still have what I want.

I’m still working on my cheesecake tho. The fatfree, sugarfree instant pudding didn’t quite cut it for me there. I think I’m going to have to break down and just try doing a regular cheesecake with the fatfree creamcheese and what other substitutions I can make. If anyone has a good recipe, I’d love you to post it in the comments. I’m sure I’m not the only one to miss this one when you’re trying to watch your weight. LOL

2 Responses

  1. Will you marry me?

    LOL!!! It’s just that I HATE to cook and bake…I’m definitely the one who buys the quick meals and desserts. No time, energy or want to – to get the smart baking and cooking like you’re doing. You go, girl!

  2. Thanks Nothing Fancy-

    Trust me I don’t have a lot of energy either, that’s why I do a bunch of stuff first thing in the morning. It’s kind of like the way I shop. I may take a whole day to go thru the ads, pick out everything on sale in each store that I can turn into a meal, go around and pick it up (in my case I have 5 grocery stores all in one circle from each other), and then I don’t have to go to the store again till next week’s ads come out.

    It’s not that I’m that pro-efficient or energetic. It’s that I’m that lazy. LOL. I get started on projects and I don’t like to quit to have to go to the store or cook.

Leave a Reply

