It’s So Hot…And So Good For The Diet!

I know I’m a spoiled brat because for the most part the weather here in California is just beautiful. This week we are going thru a hot spell…again. Trust me, for the most part fat old ladies and really hot weather are not a good combo. LOL. Thank goodness for the time of year when fresh fruit is plentiful. I’ve been cutting up honeydew, watermelon, blueberries and strawberries in kind of a fruit salad and keeping it in the fridge. I love it so much mixed in my yogurt in the morning, wrapped in fat free Cool Whip in the afternoon. I just keep forgetting to add the banana. I don’t want to do them in advance in the fruitsalad because they turn a little dark, then my kids won’t eat it. So now the bananas are turning black on the kitchen table and I’m looking for lowfat banana bread, etc. recipes.

During the hotspell, I do everything I have to do in the morning. I don’t like to cook and heat up the kitchen more in the evening, so this works out pretty good. This morning on Rachel Ray, there was a lady that made a pledge to cook in a crockpot every day for a year, so she now has 365 recipes for the crockpot. That is one way I am willing to cook in the heat since it doesn’t really throw any heat off.  If you love crockpots the way I do visit her at A Year of Crockpotting.

I also don’t see why in this weather, one cannot have a banana split for dinner. I use fatfree, no sugar added Dreyers vanilla ice cream, 2 scoops. On one of the scoops on top of the banana I use Light Hershey’s syrup, and fresh fruit, blended, on the other. It’s refreshing, not fattening, and hey, I get dessert when usually I only get dinner. LOL.

What I’ve been wanting to try is one of these “cold soups”, but I’m chicken. So if anybody has a recipe for one and you’ve made it and like it, please let me know. I think part of the reason I haven’t tried them is I don’t know what to expect. I can find a recipe, but no one is there to give me a little “inside info”.

I hope everyone’s having a great summer. I know for us, it’s definitely here.

7 Responses

  1. My wife says thank you for the crockpot link.

  2. I’d love a banana split for dinner!

    I know what you mean – it’s so hard to get motivated to cook in the summer. Believe me, we’ve had cereal for dinner more times than I’d like to admit. LOL

    Gonna check out that crockpot link. Sounds great!

  3. I have a great low fat banana bread recipe… let me know if you want it! I have been putting blueberries in it, and it’s awesome!

  4. Courtney- I would love the recipe. Sounds good with blueberries, especially since they’re in season right now. If I watch the sale papers, I’ve really gotten some good deals on them.

    So glad you guys were interested in the link for the Crockpot cooking. Hope you enjoy. For me it’s kind of a lifesaver. By dinner time I’m usually involved in some project and I hate taking the time out to cook so I look for something fast. Not always a good option.LOL

    Nothing Fancy- At least cereal can be healthy and on a hot day it can be quite refreshing. LOL

  5. Helpful Fastest Way To Lose Weight
    Handbooks Sources

  6. This is a good way to lose weight and still have your treats. see theses articles:

    http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/Translink-drivers-diet-is-the.3669808.jp

    and here:

    http://www.sundaymail.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2008/01/27/bus-driver-s-diet-book-i

    s-big-hit-78057-20299696/

  7. Good for you Peter and congrats on the book. You look terrific!

Leave a Reply

