I Told You After Smokers They Would…

go after the obese. I’ve always said once they started putting heavy taxes on cigarettes trying to get smokers to quit, the next thing they would do is tax fattening food (snack foods specifically) to get people to eat less. It’s always cracked me up looking at the “big picture” when it comes to cigarettes because once everyone quits, they’ll and they are losing a lot of revenue. Nothing like shooting yourself in the foot. LOL.

Well, so far at least in the grocery stores, the taxes on snackfoods hasn’t happened yet, at least not in California. I still say it’s only a matter of time. What really caught my attention this morning was an article about a new law in Japan that went into effect a couple of months ago.

According to an article posted on ediets.com, “Companies and local governments must measure the waists of Japanese citizens between the ages of 40 and 74 (about 44 percent of the population of Japan, or 56 million people).

If people are over the prescribed waist size — 33.5 inches for men, 35.4 for women — then they are given dietary guidance first and “re-education” after six months if the dietary guidance isn’t effective. If companies fail to have their employees meet these new weight guidelines they could face huge fines.”

Boy, talk about “big brother” taking over! Oh my gosh, and if it ends up working in Japan don’t you think they’ll be looking at something similar here? They may not be able to pull out a measuring tape, but they probably could say something like “You’re above the weight limit for your height” or “You’re too round for our health policies here”.
 

I’m sure you can see where I’m going with this. Where does it stop? Is the law against discrimination going to have to say no discriminating against “fat people” as well as race, creed, color, age, or religion? I don’t know, smokers are discriminated against and that just keeps getting worse. Looks like I’m a double whammy. I smoke and I’m fat! LOL.

 

2 Responses

  1. YIKES!!!! I don’t know what else to say.

    Hmmmm…what’s next? I might get fired if big brother doesn’t like my outfit?

  2. Sorry this took me so long. I must have missed your comment when I was in here on the 5th.

    Scary isn’t it. Who knows where it’ll end. I think you’re safe on the clothes for awhile. The addiction for shopping isn’t quite large enough to raise enough revenue. LOL

Leave a Reply

