Some New Stuff on Weightloss…

I just thought I might post this morning about little snippets of news regarding weightloss. I see and read a lot of stuff and thought I might share here. First on the agenda tho, is a nice blog I found for women over on blogger, thanks to Anita stopping by here. It’s called “Cool News For Women” and it’s very informative. Not only that, but there’s a lot of stuff concerning menopause, etc. that concerns women my age instead of the “teeny bopper” set. LOL.

Now, onto the rest of the stuff! There’s a lot of articles in the news lately about how gastric bypass cuts cancer risk. It seems after following 50 subjects for 2 yrs. there was a marked difference in health after only losing just 50% of the weight they had to lose. That’s the upside. The downside is…

It seems that’s not the only proceedure that improves health. The lapband we’re hearing so much about seems to possibly reverse, or at least get under control, Type II diabetes, plus lowering the risk of cancer, etc.

I’ll bet these guys are really happy to have some good news. I have often thought about these two as a way of losing “without having to work at it”. For the gastric bypass surgery, I’m not obese enough. The lapband I find intriguing until they give you all those little warnings about “slippage” at the end of the commercial. Of course the main time we really hear about this stuff is when someone died from it. Another case where I’m not sure the cure isn’t worse than the disease. LOL

They’re working on a new way to drug our obese children now. A new drug they’re working on called Metformin is supposed to help insulin resistant children. They say this new drug, along with a controlled diet, helped insulin resistant children lose weight. I have to tell you, based on the numbers I read, it wasn’t enough weight for me to drug my kid, and then doesn’t anyone who sticks to a controlled diet lose weight usually? Why don’t they just put these kids on a low glycemic index diet, which is made for insulin resistance? Sounds like more “Big Pharma” money to me.

This little jewel I love. They found that fat, sedentary women (of which I am one)who eat a “Big” breakfast which included milk, 3 ounces of lean meat, two slices of cheese, two whole grain servings, one fat serving and one ounce of milk chocolate or candy, lost 40lbs. after 8 months. The control group that ate low carb for 8 months lost only 9lbs. To me, the 9lbs. seems low, but if you figure in the “lose only a lb. or 2 a month for good health” theory, I guess it could be accurate. Either that or in that average, somebody cheated. LOL. This is really a pretty good article on how your body works, cravings, etc over on Forbes if you’d like to read it.

I think that’s enough for today. As usual, I’m starting to get a little longwinded. Just wanted to share.

One Response

  1. […] ladybeams added an interesting post on Some New Stuff on Weightlossâ¦Here’s a small excerptI just thought I might post this morning about little snippets of news regarding weightloss. I see and read a lot of stuff and thought I might share here. First on the agenda tho, is a nice blog I found for women over on blogger, … […]

Leave a Reply

