The Latest Thing I Read On Weight Loss…

I get  a lot of health newsletters. Every thing from the Mayo Clinic to Health Alerts by email to health newsletters for women, etc. One of the latest things I’ve seen is a doctor suggests Resveritrol and Soy as the magic combination to aid in weight loss.

Resveritrol is like a super antioxidant. If you don’t know what antioxidants are, they are the super nutrients that help fight the toxins that enter your body (free radicals) and destroy your cells. This is a really simplistic definition, as I am no doctor. Given my bad habits, I am into anything that will fight the bad guys in my body, but supposedly according to this doctor, when you go heavy in antioxidants, you go “light” on weight. Sounds good to me, so I talked to the lady at my health food store, and bought a bottle (second bottle 50% off. LOL.).

I have a problem with the “soy” part of this “prescription”. I am not a big advocate of soy to start with and I hate tofu. I have read a lot about studies showing if you have cancer cells in your body, soy may help them grow. I don’t know if I have anything like that in my body, but I’m old enough and it’s common enough, I’m not willing to take a chance.

We’re all so willing to try anything to help us lose weight, sometimes to the expense of our own health (fedra, etc). It’s okay to use supplements that enhance our health, diet and fitness, but make sure you know what you are taking, and from whom. Not all vitamins and supplements are equal, just like not every diet plan and fitness plan is perfect for you, me, Tom, Dick and Harry.

4 Responses

  1. […] tagged weightOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. The Latest Thing I Read On Weight Loss… saved by 2 others     umbumgo bookmarked on 05/23/08 | […]

  2. That’s right. And I think in general anything claiming to be a miracle weight loss ______ (fill in the blank with pill, diet, etc.) is just wacko. At the end of the day, it’s what we eat and how much energy we expend. Right?

  3. Hi writinggb! That’s right. I do believe there are vitamins and supplements that help to enhance the good things we do, but in the end that big pile of tortellini alfredo still translates to “fat on me”. lol.

  4. “fat on me” LOL !!!!! 🙂 You crack me up.

Leave a Reply

