It’s Definitely Summer Here In California…

Nothing makes a fat girl say “shoulda, woulda, coulda” like really hot weather.

I “shoulda” stuck to eating right and exercising.

I “woulda” been small enough to fit into some bitchin’ summer clothes.

I “coulda” been there by now.

I had pretty much forgotten how much I hate hot (90 to 100 degrees) weather when I’m overweight. I’ve gotten old enough that I tend to run on the “cooler” side most of the time, so the hot weather when I’m thinner, doesn’t seem so bad. This year I remembered when the temps reached 102, why I usually diet in the fall or winter to be thinner by spring and summer.

One thing the hot weather has done for me is make my attraction to the fruits and vegetables in season much stronger. It must be working, because I’ve actually lost about 5 lbs. in the last week or so. Cookies, etc. just don’t have the same appeal when I’m sweating to death, looking for a way to cool off.  So it’s obviously not due to being post-menopausal, but my crummy eating habits that are keeping me fat. Hate facing that one! LOL

The strawberries have been just beautiful by me this year. They’re huge and so sweet and juicy. Usually at least one store by me (I’m lucky enough to have about 5 different grocery stores all in a circle close to where I live) has a 4lb. clamshell on sale at a really reasonable price. The blueberries not such a great bargain, but I love them in my yogurt and even tho the containers are small, I can still usually find them on sale. I bought a beautiful pineapple the other day, and I’ll probably cut that up for snacking today. To me, the can will never have anything on fresh when it comes to pineapple. When I went to Hawaii, my late husband couldn’t sit me at the bar next to a waitress station because I couldn’t keep my hands out of the pineapple. LOL.

The truly great thing about all this is that it is such a healthy way to eat. I’ve always said “if I truly ate everything they want you to eat when you’re on WeightWatchers, I would never be able to snack on anything else!”

Thank goodness for the hot weather to reteach me how to eat right. I’m drinking a lot more water also, of course, which I’m sure has helped with dropping a little of this excess weight. See, you just never know where help is going to come from. LOL 

 

 

3 Responses

  1. Hello,
    I stumbled across your journal by way of the random button.
    I’m also trying to loose weight (though I’m pre menopausal), but I’ve found some similarities in how I feel to what you’re saying.
    my shoulda-coulda-woulda is all brought on by a huge lack of motivation. But I’ve graduated college now and I’m preparing to dive head-first into the working world, and I want to look good and feel good.
    So I reopened my gym membership and unpacked my weightwatchers materials (I don’t go to meetings, though I should suck it up and pay for that too and go, but I track points for myself).

    My main goal right now is to target my nasty snacking habit. veggies and fruits just aren’t as appealing as bread, sadly.

    good luck in your endeavors 🙂

  2. auralay- I am so glad you stopped by. I was on WeightWatchers many times before when I just couldn’t afford the meetings, so I bought the books and followed the diet, and I did just find. The nice thing about the meetings is you have a chance to make a “diet buddy” and they give a lot of tips you don’t neccessarily get thru their books. If you’re worried about the weigh in’s, their very private so you’re not embarassed (except for the person checking you in, maybe).

    You’re right. I have a hard time with bread and pasta. I’ve made the bread thing less damaging because I use the “Sara Lee” light bread and I love it! but I haven’t found a less damaging pasta. LOL.

    If you have a blog, about anything, let me know and I’ll come visit you . I tried by your comment, but it’s to an email address. Thanks again.

  3. Oh, I just got this reply!
    my blog is at Auralay.wordpress.com 🙂

    I used to be in WeightWatchers, and that’s where I found success. Unfortunatly, I was unable to maintain it financially, so I kept all my materials and told myself “self, we need to take what we’ve learned and keep going with it.”
    It’s been a very. very. very. tough road, and I doubt that it will ever stop being challenging, but I’m getting there 🙂
    Seeing even the smallest result is so. rewarding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

