I’ve Been MIA Thanks to Exercise…

Yep. I finally joined a challenge on one of the diet sites. I thought “okay. 30 days. I can do this.”

There’s a new workout routine every day. It’s all laid out for me. No boredom. The “exercise queen” that did the workout videos was actually quite good. They’re considered “medium impact”. Little did I know at the time I definitely should have started in the “low impact” department. The very first day I threw myself into the routine. A little marching in place, a little big marching in place, a little side to side marching in place. All that was good. Then came the jumping jacks.

I knew my left arm was sore and I did not have the range of motion I should have. Due to some “sleep” issues with the BF, I’ve been sleeping for extended periods on my left arm and feeling it slowly get worse. (Read the article “Is Sleeping With Your Spouse Killing You?”) LOL. I did my jumping jacks. I did the “punch to the front”. By Wednesday morning I could not move my left arm. By Wed. afternoon I was in tears and looking for drugs. I evidently tore or damaged my rotator cuff. It is so friggin’ painful! I am starting to do a little better as of today. In the mean time I don’t have the patience to type one handed, so I didn’t do much of anything. Now I am doing range of motion exercises, and as it starts to feel better, I will start working out with a resistance band to get my arm back where it should be.

The moral of the story: Keep moving. I’ve known for a year I was falling out of shape sitting in front of the computer day in and day out. I kept saying “tomorrow”. Well I’m here to tell you, tomorrow came and went, and it was painful. I should have been doing a little something every day. No matter what size you are, what you do for a living, you must make time for your body in there somewhere. I’ve spent the last few days finding out how many things are either excessively hard one handed, or I can’t do at all. I’m really lucky if this doesn’t end up permanent.

5 Responses

  1. […] compassioninpolitics wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThe “exercise queen” that did the workout videos was actually quite good. They’re considered “medium impact”. Little did I know at the time I definitely should have started in the “low impact” department. The very first day I threw … […]

  2. […] compassioninpolitics wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThe “exercise queen” that did the workout videos was actually quite good. They’re considered “medium impact”. Little did I know at the time I definitely should have started in the “low impact” department. The very first day I threw … […]

  3. This post really hit home for me. Would you want to elaborate on it for MidLifeBloggers?

  4. Ouch!! Rotator cuff injuries are awful. My sympathies. Just hang in there and know that it will get better. You’ll figure it out. Just keep trying!

  5. ByJane- Thanks so much for stopping by. Hope this didn’t “hit home” with you because you suffered the same thing. It really hurts, but doing much better now. I just started out doing exercises that I haven’t done in years and stretched over my head which I basically haven’t done in a year, so when I started with such gusto, I blew it. Doing range of motion now and some work with the resistance band to strengthen my rotator cuff so it doesn’t happen again.

    writinggb- Thanks for the sympathy. I’m sure I’m partly a big baby. I’m never in pain, so I don’t handle it very well. You are always such a doll!

Leave a Reply

