My Latest “New” Things…

I don’t care what we are doing to lose weight, you have to admit that we all still keep looking for that “something magic” that will make it disappear faster and easier. I for one cannot help but notice the ads, etc. even when I know most of them are bunk, and some I even go for.

I ran across a magazine while in line at the grocery store a couple of days ago, (exactly why they put them there), and the main story on the front was “Walk Off 96% More Fat” “Lose 43 lbs. by Memorial Day”. This is the walking plan used by Kim, the fitness guru from the “Biggest Loser”. I have tried just about everything when it comes to exercise, but I really didn’t have a workout plan, so I end up not doing much. This has a definate 3wk plan, and it includes weight or circuit training, so I am giving it a shot. After the first day of walking 30 min. with “steam engines” in between, I could definately feel it where I was supposed to the next day. Here’s hoping this is one I can stick to, at least for the 3wks. and then decide what to do from there.

My next “new thing” is, I am not one for “cleanses” even tho I am so toxic I could be the next waste dump. I smoke (damn it), I drink a bit of wine, I have mercury in my teeth, and I’m obese. There’s probably more, these are just off the top of my head. I could never stand the thought of going without food for 2 days, having only water or fruitjuice or whatever liquid. I also didn’t like the idea that when my body flushed all these toxins, more than likely it would be at a very inopportune time when I was miles from the nearest bathroom, so I just didn’t really consider it.

Lately I have been reading so much about the benefits of hydrogen peroxide. It does everything! From killing mold and mildew in my shower, to killing all the bacteria in my kitchen, to lightening my hair, it does it all plus some. What I’ve been reading more of lately is the benefits of ingesting it. They make a food grade hydrogen peroxide which when heavily diluted, adds oxygen to your bloodstream, cleanses out toxins, and returns your whole system to a ph balance. (Disclaimer: This is not to be misconstrued as medical advice. Speak to your personal physician before doing anything).

I have been taking it for 3 days now, starting at 3 drops 3 times a day and building up 1 drop every time each day from there. Today is my 3rd day, I’m up to 6 drops in 5 ozs. of water 3 times a day, and already I am sleeping better and my joints aren’t nearly as sore as they have been. This whole thing ends up being quite a process, but if I’m seeing results already, I’m looking forward to it. I’ll have to let you know how it goes as I progress, but I am very concious of when I eat due to how you have to space this out between food, which has also made me more concious of what I eat.

I think 2 new things are enough for one day. LOL.

 

6 Responses

  1. It takes about 30 days for a new exercise routine to become a habit. Be sure you give your plan at least 30 days. You might want to check to see if there are walking clubs in your area. The club I belong to walks together every Saturday morning, and we also enter local races together. It helps to keep us motivated and moving! Some running clubs also welcome walkers.

    For me, it helps to register for a future race to keep me motived to walk regularly. If I don’t have an upcoming event, I find silly excuses to skp my workouts. You can start with a 5K and see how you feel.

    Finally, there are lots of books on walking, or you might consider subscribing to WALK! Magazine. It is the only national magazine to help keep all walkers motivated. http://www.walk-magazine.com

    Cindi

  2. Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. With taxes, etc. I have been pretty neglectful here.

    Thanks Cindi for stopping by and for the suggestions. Your magazine looks really cool. I was figuring on keeping the routine up (maybe switch it up a little so I don’t get bored)especially if it worked for the 3 weeks. I was seeing results pretty fast.

    Registering for an event is a good idea, but I think it’s a little early for me yet, altho I could join my daughter for the San Francisco AIDS Walk. That’s not too bad.

  3. I was wondering how it was going with the walking program from First Magazine. I thought it looked interesting; I haven’t tried it yet as I’ve been on vacation for the past couple of weeks. I’d be interested to see if you are still doing it and if you’ve experienced any success

  4. The program is excellent. I could feel results immediately. I haven’t kept it up because I had a hard time figuring where I was going to do it without making a public skeptical of myself. But I’m going back. I like the way you keep adding a little something every week, building on the week before.

    Good luck to you if you decide to try it. Also SparkPeople is starting a new fitness challenge May 4-May 30. You can sign up for it now and get a preview, but it doesn’t start for real until May 4th.

    http://www.sparkpeople.com You should see about the “Beach Body Bootcamp challenge” on the front page. If not, it’s in SparkTeams.

  5. Thanks for the info about the SparkPeople challenge. I’ll check it out. I started the walking program this morning. I know what you mean about feeling like an oddball so to speak. I got up and did it early this morning thinking I wouldn’t see too many people and lo and behold, this elderly lady was walking her dog and walked right by me when I was doing my steam engines. I don’t know why, but that stressed me out!!!

  6. LOL. I realized even tho I was walking in a park, where people are all doing their own things, I’m sort of hiding behind a tree to do those. This park even has exercise things to stop and do all around the track, and I still felt silly. I’m sure it’s probably just us. They’re probably paying alot more attention to what they are doing than what we are.

    Later, couldn’t you feel those steam engines? I was shocked.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

