Little Things Can Make Me So Happy

I generally not only try to follow WeightWatchers, but I also try to eat “low glycemic”, thus heading off Type ll Diabetes that can come with obesity. I read the labels most of the time and try to be discerning about certain things I eat, one being 100% Whole Wheat Bread. While I enjoy that, and if it’s good, stone ground or crushed wheat is even better, I do like the really soft white bread.

I don’t know how new this is, or if everyone knew but me, but my old friend Sara Lee has come out with a white bread that is only 45 calories, 4 grams of fiber, and 1 gram of sugar. It is still only 1 point for 2 pieces, just like the Oroweat, but it is really good. I still plan to eat my sandwiches on wheat, but it is so nice sometimes just to have that good old soft white bread for toast or with jam. Enjoy.

Watched Oprah today for the first time in a long time because today was the day she did the whole show on quitting smoking. As her guests, she had 3 gentlemen that are supposed to be SuperMen in this field, one being the nation’s leading expert on quitting. I smoked thru the entire show waiting for him to have some magic that I hadn’t heard of before. (I am a diehard smoker, and worse since working from home).

I smoke more in rebellion also, than I ever did. While I know I should quit, and I actually sort of want to quit, I am pissed that the laws are getting so rediculous in telling me where I’m allowed to smoke. While I understood when they stopped allowing smoking in restaurants, (children, people trying to eat, etc.) I was furious when they outlawed it in bars, supposedly to protect the employees. All my employees smoked. What do they think they accomplished? Now I can’t believe they have gotten away with outlawing it in whole towns, in your car and in your apartment or home. I know it’s bad for me, but let me decide to quit, not the government watching my car and my house.

I’ve always tried to be a considerate smoker and yes, I realize not everyone is, but this is just one more case where we go from one extreme to the other. The non-smokers had to put up with smoking for a long time, but instead of coming back and doing something that is fair for everyone, it’s the other extreme, where they’re trying to make it where you can’t smoke anywhere.

Enough of my little rant, thank you. What I had started out to say is that this guy on Oprah didn’t have any magic at all. They do have a new drug to add to the mix now, Chantrix, which I hear they have had great success with (altho after I first heard of this, there’s something in the warnings that scared the hell out of me. I just can’t remember what it is right now). Wellbutrin is supposed to be quite good also, but the plan for quitting smoking is still the same plan. One new twist they have, and this is the second time I’ve heard it, is figuring out what kind of smoker you are. After I finish here, I am going over to Oprah.com to see just what that is, besides being heavily addicted.

They say trying to change your eating habits and quit smoking at the same time is just setting yourself up to fail, but I figure “what the hell. I’m into self abuse”. LOL. My quitting smoking would definately make everyone around here rethink moving out.

5 Responses

  1. I too am a smoker although I’ve cut down quite a bit since I stopped driving the hour and a half each way to and from work. I do want to quit but I’m not willing to do it right this second. I do NOT like the idea of anyone telling me that I can’t smoke in my car. I bought it, I’m alone in it, so piss off! What’s next? Are ‘They’ going to decide that carbs are bad and ban bread? Honestly!

  2. Thanks for your comments over on our blog! I’m glad you found our kettlebell site.

    I wish you luck with those two goals. Yeah, it’s a lot, but I bet you can do it. 😉

    And I like that bread too. It’s good stuff!

  3. Yeh, I can imagine it must be pretty tough to do both Weight Watchers and quit smoking. I like the idea of figuring out what kind of smoker ne is first. Kinda fits with Weight Watchers, too — figuring out why we overeat.

    Good luck!

  4. 25% of the population roughly smoke. So I think it’s only fitting the laws favour the majority. Sorry to hear that you now find it hard to smoke in public… but it’s better than the innocent getting sick from smokers.

  5. Why Quit Smoking- You’re lucky I’m in a good mood. LOL. Will keep your site in mind.

Leave a Reply

