I Didn’t Disappear…

And neither have the pounds. I have been doing some research. I, for the first time wanted to know all I could on body changes thru peri- and post- menopause. I know most of you I communicate with are young enough you don’t feel you have to worry about this yet, but you should. I wish for all my knowledge of the body and nutrition, I had known just a little more about this transition in my life, before I got here. It’s amazing to me how much what you do now has to do with what happens later. I always thought because I had lost weight in the past I could do it again, anytime I wanted. Even tho it’s always hard to go back to eating properly and losing the extra weight, and God knows it never comes off as fast as it went on, your dealing with a new set of rules after menopause.

One of the common things to take place as we age is a lack of activity. If you think about it, most of us actually start this the day we get our driver’s license and quit walking everywhere. I, as a girl, lived in a small town and we thought nothing of walking uptown, all the way down the main drag, then back again. Even if you’re not overeating, this is one thing you need to step up, not start slacking off of. What do I do? I am no longer working as I used to, so I am no longer on my feet 10 to 12 hours a day. I am not running back and forth behind the bar, and I am not lifting cases of beer. While I used to use work as an excuse for not working out, now I have replaced it with sitting at the computer most of the time. For those of you who have been with me awhile, you know from my prior posts that exercise is one of the hardest lifestyle changes I need to make. I need to make it because “belly fat” comes with old age, the dangerous kind (which is probably why I keep saying ‘this fat feels different than before’). I like to do activities, but I hate exercise. I am looking into classes, but many of them are only once a week. I am looking at weight lifting DVD’s, but really don’t know where to start. The one thing that is the same after menopause is that muscle burns fat, and unfortunately mother nature is working against me here. As we age we suffer muscle loss just thru the changes in our body unless we do something to counter act it.

Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated. I don’t have a lot of room (too much clutter and too many people), but if anyone knows of classes that run a few times a week vs. once, or something that’s worked for you, please let me know. I’ve gone thru all the contemplation. I need to move! If I’m going to stick to a good eating plan, I need to see something happen, and this appears to be the only way to do that. Damn it!

Leave a Reply

