It’s Cold. I Want Comfort…

 food! The weather is bleak and wet and cold. There is no sun and this these are the kind of days that bring on SAD (Seasonal Affect Disorder). The skies are dark so it feels much later than it is. This causes my body to feel like it’s time to go to bed. I want to dress in the warmest, coziest fleece or sweats. I want to stay curled up in my flannel sheets and quilt. I want to eat comfort foods. To try to combat this, I usually flip on a bunch of lights to try and emulate sunlight. It helps a bit, but it’s still like it’s nitetime with the lights on. I get in and get dressed early to get going on some kind of activity to bring my energy level up, and I start pulling out my recipes for soups and the crockpot. Luckily, I love soups and most of them are filling, high in fiber and not so full of calories. I’ve got so many WW cookbooks I’m looking forward to trying some new dishes, and I’ve gotten pretty good at paring down my own recipes. Usually my downfall is the stuff that goes with it. If I have Chili, I have to have cornbread. If I have stew, I have to have biscuits (thank goodness for lowfat Bisquick). They just seem to go together. (Thanks alot Mom. LOL)

This year instead of adding to my weight, I will be just as happy, and in the end happier, taking off some of the weight I put back on last year. Chicken and dumplings is sounding really good right now.

3 Responses

  1. Yup. I’m looking for comfort food, too, and exercising less becasue it’s so cold.

    My husband made mac n cheese for lunch. Ah, kill me!! I ate one heaping spoonful. Can’t believe that’s all. I’d rather eat the whole box.

    Hard! I need to go to the store and buy some 0 pt canned soup for times like these when I don’t have a chance to cook.

  2. Don’t you just love mac and cheese? Me too. Good for you only having a spoonful. I made it for the kids the other nite. It had 7 pts. which I wasn’t willing to give up, but I did have 1/4 cup.

    I would love to come visit you on your blog, but there’s no link. How do I find you?

    If you like Clam Chowder at all, Campbell’s Select 98% Fat Free is absolutely wonderful and it’s only 2pts. for 1/2 the can. It’s probably one of the best canned soups I’ve had.

  3. My blog is at

    http://writinggrandmasbook.wordpress.com

    Oh, and by the way, I ate 1 cup later that night, but I had the points.

Leave a Reply

