I guess It Was Just the Battery

I changed the battery in my scale yesterday, and it seems to be working. Glad I thought of that before I went and bought a new one!

I visited alliezalley yesterday, and she is dealing with health issues other than just weight. One of the things she suffers from is celiac disease, which is an allergy to gluten. For anyone who doesn’t know, that is essentially an allergy to wheat, etc.Ā  This morning in my inbox is an email from Dr. Susan Lark all about the reasons it’s so hard to lose weight after 40. The first thing she advocates is leading a gluten free lifestyle. According to her, a lot of us develop an alergy to gluten and never even realize it. She is not the first doctor I have seen advocate this. I don’t know if there is a test that you can get over the counter or not, but I thought the idea was interesting. Dr. Lark states that the gluten actually induces inflammation and this change alone would make us feel less bloated, etc. I haven’t quite decided if I am into giving this a try or not, but I find the idea interesting.

2 Responses

  1. Oooooo, so you now know this has been my world for the last NINE months! Any help you need, direction, ANYTHING! Just ask šŸ˜‰

    In my opinion, it could NEVER hurt anyone to go gluten free. There is no over the counter test. There is extensive blood work that can be run by an allergist/immunologist or rheumotologist. Sometimes the blood work is inconclusive. Then there is a colon biopsy. I never had the biopsy done. The quickest and most simplest way is to go on the gluten free diet. It is a challenge, do not get me wrong, but the bloating you speak of will DISAPPEAR! Areas i thought were just fat šŸ˜‰ disappeared. Also, you just feel tons better! It is well worth looking into. The messageboard at celiac.com is a phenominal resource! Good luck!
    -Allie šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the info! Both of you, gals!
    I’ll check into this gluten free ideal. I’ve known a few folks that can’t have it and never understood why. So thanks!

Leave a Reply

