I Love This Time Of Year

when it comes to food! I have been eating fresh blueberries, blackberries, rasberries and yesterday I cleaned a big clamshell of fresh strawberries. Besides being great additives for my yogurt, they make great finger snacks (which sometimes you just need to be able to ‘munch’), and you get all the great health benefits of getting your antioxidants from fresh fruit.  I also have fresh watermelon and cantelope, all the fixins for a great fruit salad! Slap a little fat free coolwhip on there and I am in hog heaven. I love to eat this stuff, so why is it that unless I am concentrating on watching my weight or my health, do I not choose this stuff as a natural choice? Same way with raw veggies. I just love them, things you wouldn’t even normally think of eating raw (or at least I never did, e.g. zuchini, bell pepper) until I truly ‘have’ to make it a choice. I wonder to myself sometimes why it doesn’t come as a natural choice, even if I was skinny? If things like fruit and veggies are ready to snack at any time, why would I go for the chips? That’s one part of changing my lifestyle I don’t understand. It would be different if I disliked all that stuff, but I don’t. So I have the symptom, now I’m looking for the underlying reason. Am I just self destructive? Could be.

Now chocolate is a whole animal by itself. There really is no substitute for chocolate when I get a craving. I am lucky that it only takes a small amount to satisfy the craving and there are several choices I can make that are not quite so harmful. Push came to shove, I could drink 2TBS. of Hershey’s Lite Syrup right out of the bottle for 1pt. That would probably be enough. LOL. (Although it is more gratifying when you’re chewing something!)

3 Responses

  1. Dont deprive yourself of anything. Especially chocolate.

  2. Hello,
    First of all, I just wanted to say good luck with your new goals. I’m excited to see that you’ve made healthy and realistic ones. Regarding your chips and chocolate question, I believe that our bodies crave foods for different reasons. For example, if you haven’t been drinking as much water as usual, then you’ll crave salt. When you feel depressed or unsatisfied with yourself, then you’ll want the endorphins that come from eating chocolate.

    As you continue your journey toward health, I want to encourage you to take a deeper look into your well being; mentally, spiritually, and psychologically, etc. There has to be an underlying reason that caused you to break your healthy lifestyle before: albeit crises in relationships or otherwise. At least this is what I’m looking into in my own personal journey toward weight loss and health.

    Congratulations on your success so far1

  3. Thank you for stopping by.
    I think you are absolutely correct on the ‘why’. The last time I lost weight was for a totally wrong reason, I didn’t get what I wanted out of it, and it was the first time I had lost weight and not kept it off for years at a time. Thanks for bringing this to the forefront of my conciousness, because it definately is something I should be looking into.

Leave a Reply

