Hello world!

 Well, here I am. It’s 6am and I am starting the weightloss journey Again! I am not here to endorse any special kind of diet, as I feel everyone has to find what works best for them. I personally thru out my life, have probably tried them all. I like Weight Watchers for the extra support of the meetings, myself. Some diet mongers say if you go with them you don’t have to ‘attend any meetings’. They say it like it’s a bad thing.  If you attend them, the extra tips and tricks are an excellent source for helping you stick, plus it’s a little easier when you know you’re not alone and you’re all there for the same thing. Of course, just like the skinny women in the gym, there are always those who only need to lose about 10lbs. (I don’t like them) LOL.

Then there’s the low or no carbohydrate diet, or Atkins. This worked very well for me when I was younger and drinking more. In the old days, we called this the ‘drinking man’s’ diet. I still do this on occasion when I want to lose a few pounds just to get a quick start to loss, but I don’t feel it’s one of the healthier choices for a complete lifestyle change.

Last, but not least, is the low-fat diet. This also worked quite well for me while I stuck to it. I used to just count fat grams, which was easier than counting calories for me, and I just didn’t go over 20 to 25 grams.

All of these things worked as long as I stayed motivated.  I actually, until this last time, kept the weight off for a few years each time. It’s very important to be losing weight for the right reasons.  They should be internal, not external. My problem was I lost the weight, but it did not produce the external results I was looking for, and I put the weight back on. Of course, we all want the oooh’s and aaaah’s and the compliments, but if that’s the only reason you’re losing, when people get used to you being thin and the compliments slow down, you will be terribly disappointed.

What it’s all about when you get to be my age, is lifestyle change, NOT DIETING. Although to me it’s the same thing. I, being now post menepausal, still cannot eat tortellini alfredo and cheesecake everyday (my two favorites) and not get FAT.  I wish I would have truly made it a lifestyle change when I was younger. I wouldn’t be in this position now, or at least it would be easier.

#2 problem, I hate to exercise. I just closed a brick and morter business where I was on my feet all the time. Even tho my hours were all over the place and I drank more than I do now, I sort of kept my weight under control. I had gained some of my weight back, but not all 46 lbs. like I have now that I sit at the computer all day.

So, I have decided to make this a very candid look at my weightloss and lifestyle change. I want to ‘grow old sexily’ (I don’t know if that’s a word, but I want it!) and healthfully.  I feel like crap with all this extra weight. My energy level is down, and I’m pissed that I can’t wear a tank top and short shorts in this 100 degree weather! I am not here to judge anyone, as I will be putting in my own excuses for the days I screw up, etc. I welcome any comments of understanding, struggles of your own, or sympathy. LOL. I’m all for any one who cares to join me.

And now, I’m off to get a piece of cheesecake and I’ll probably have alfredo for lunch. The one indulgence I haven’t let myself partake in is cheesecake, and I’ve been craving a piece for months. So, before I begin my journey, I’m going to take care of that. I know for me, if I start behaving first, I’ll just want the cheesecake even more. Nothing like setting myself up for failure right out of the gate!

One Response

  1. Good luck to you! I see you just started your journey – me too!
    My diet blog is at http://iloveyoubigmac.wordpress.com
    I’m gonna blogroll you.

Leave a Reply

